Understanding the Radicalization of The Left

in #politics6 years ago

Leaning to the Point of Falling Over


We discussed earlier this week that there are obviously extremes on both aisles in American politics. We have the Right, the Left, the extreme Right, and the extreme Left. Funny though, that actors of the extreme Right are easily identifiable - Neo nazis, white supremacists, and the KKK. One the contrary, it’s almost impossible to put a finger on the extreme Left and what that looks like.

And I think I’ve figured out why.

To repeat some of the findings of my last post, the Left is predominantly and historically concerned with the space for the marginalized. The Left fights against the structured of conservatism to ensure a platform for the most disenfranchised. Sometimes this is concerned with racial minorities, sometimes with refugees and targeted religions, sometimes the homeless or survivors of disasters. In day-to-day politics, race is likely the most explicit of the cases.

And since the role of the Left is to ensure space in any given structure, we can then identify the extreme perspective - the undermining of structure itself for the sake of the disenfranchised. I’ll draw the line in the sand there. Whenever a case for the ‘marginalized’ is made to attack any given structure, it is a form of extremism.

How does this play out in real life? Here are a number of examples -

  • When boycotts are called because a corporation stands by it’s religious values
  • When any attack is made on somebody because of their perceived maintenance of a “patriarchy”
  • When any general statement on “white people” is made in order to justify racist statements and actions
  • When transgendered individuals try to enforce ‘misgendering’ as a hate crime
  • When hateful actions are forgiven because the perpetrator is a “victim” or product of “oppression”
  • When Antifa publicly attacks others baselessly for the sake of “fighting fascism” (I find this one most ironic)
  • When Twitter mobs are rallied because some comment or situation is seen as “insensitive”
  • When forceful ‘deplatforming’ is justified by emotions
  • A denial of reality and existing structures to reinforce personal world views - i.e. "Not my President"

I believe this is a solid list to start from. Identifying extreme leftism is paramount if we’re to make any real progress in the name of progressive ideals. The Left is meant to make space, not coerce it. It is meant to challenge social norms and structures, not to undermine it. It is meant to negotiate with mainstream historical readings, not coopt it.

The Extreme Victims


So why do we have such a hard time calling these extremists out? Especially on the Left, we see a tremendous platform on mainstream media and mainstream culture for this type of extreme rhetoric. We see mobbed actions of Black Lives Matter forgiven simply due to skin color and we let “misgendering is violence” slide, simply because it is almost impossible to deduce what is Leftism and what is extreme Leftism.

My hypothesis on why triangulating the extreme is so difficult is because the purveyors of extreme messages are also perceived to be the victims themselves according to Leftist logic. Oftentimes, these messages are given a pass because the microphone for hate happens to be asian, or black, or a woman, or transgender. I don’t believe these to be sufficient excuse for flat-out hate. Here are of my favorite recent examples -

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 2.02.16 PM.png

A great litmus test for any of these is - if this was to be stated by a white man, would it fly? None of the above would survive to see another day. The incredible common factor is that all of these were produced either on mainstream platforms or extensively covered by them. This. Is. The. Radical. Left.

When we see statements or actions of extreme hate being done by a supposed marginalized “victim,” it is supremely difficult to challenge such a thing. The impulses of empathy, a trademark of the diverse Left, are far more powerful than any rationale. But this is one of the paramount responsibilities of the Left, especially since the ultimate goal is “progress.” That progress can only be achieved when the catalysts of that change are reasonable and compelling for the Right in particular. But when immutable characteristics of ‘minorities’ become excuses for deplorable behavior, non such progress will ever be made. In fact, we’re more likely to regress into a more tribalistic mindset.

This series of deductions and statements will likely not sit well with many readers. I absolutely welcome discourse and debate. I have always made clear that I stand by most liberal values and the main purpose of identifying radicalization on 'my side'

Sort:  

I upvoted you because the penmanship of this article is excellent! However, some things you say are valid, others I don't know. I am what you call an independent (voted for everyone from Reagan to Obama). So a lot of my views are middle of the road...some are right...a lot are left anymore.
I am, as you say, a person who likes to defend the 'marginalized'. But for me, it's more like I'm protecting the innocent or something. I would not characterize my motivations the same way you may.
As far as the race aspect, I accept certain things because you have to give the 'marginalized', as you call it, a sense that they have won at least the freedom to say what they want-every case is different I know.

But, in full honesty, I think I even suffer a little from what you describe. I'm not a violent person or anything(I won't even curse at someone, in real life or on Twitter or something). But I have this insatiable drive to run men like Donald Trump out of office (in whatever little way I can).
And also, to be honest, I think it has something to do with my childhood. But I wanted to give you credit again, because this was really something I had never read before, and it helped me realize something about myself :-)

Thanks for the comment @olinzodd! I think the 'protection' aspect should absolutely be preserved. I'm going to write a few more posts (including one I just did a few days ago on cultural movie reviews) in the instances where the seeming 'protection' goes to far and undermines a societal structure.

I do not think there is such a thing as the left and the right, it seems to me that it is only an illusion, however, if we use these terms to simplify the reality and the political content, I would have to say that the left is inherently an instrument of destruction of societies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81