Candy coating for something that tastes bad...

in #politics7 years ago (edited)


I once read a book by a guy called Anton LaVey from out of California. I have been a collector of bibles, and though I practice no organized religion I have made a habit of reading up on them and studying them. Anton LaVey founded the Church or Satan and wrote the "Satanic Bible". I read it. "Sugar coating something that tastes bad" was my description.

So why did I have that description? The first introductory essay/pseudo-chapters were things that most people can likely get behind and support. They were not really so much about religion, or even any kind of spiritualism. As I read further thanks to my studies I recognized some of the places his ideas were coming from. Remember, this is not an ancient tome. It is a carefully crafted book that beguiled many a Hollywood star and starlet.

Those first sections were compelling, and after observing human nature I've realized that this is all it usually takes for most people. If you can convince them that your words are candy, or that you are wise then they tend to eat up whatever else you feed them after that. It sadly is a rare thing for people to question those they have already accepted as worthy to follow. This is a weakness, and it is so often exploited.

The book itself. It was a mess and not very good when you got past those initial candy coating bits. It also is not likely what people would suspect. It is mostly a book about self interest being paramount. We all have self interest to a certain degree and it is a necessary survival trait. It then was wrapped up with some Enochian magic type work be Dee and Kelley long before LaVey was alive. It was basically sugar coating something that tastes bad.

So why did I write this? Looking around I had a sudden realization and it is one I've internally had for a long time I just never put the candy coating concept and it together. So much of our life is about candy coating things that are bad, and we would not remotely consider doing them if it were not for the candy coating that sucks us in. It turns us all into suckers.

Likely most wars, and police actions can be described as this.

Most bills these days candy coat the bill with some title that only a JERK would vote against even though the bill itself is very often actually the opposite of what the title says.

The Patriot Act
No Child Left Behind

Really, if you go to a place like votesmart.org and pick a politician and go look at the things they've voted on and you pay attention to the names of the bills, you will see this candy coating trick being used over and over.

You'll also see people on the campaign trail bashing Ron Paul or some other decent guy/gal with a brain because he didn't vote on the "Save innocent puppies from harm act" and most people will go for the bashing. All they care about is the candy coating. Ron Paul was a guy that actually read the bills. While he was in congress he had the nickname "Dr. No" because of how often he would vote no. He is a guy of great integrity and for me is a personal hero. I've been brought to tears before when I watched him speak at a rally in 2008. The tears came unbidden because he was saying things I never thought I'd hear someone say that was running for office. I'd done my research and he didn't flip flop. He kept telling people the truth regardless of how he was bashed. I looked back into the 80s and realized he is a rare man of integrity and honesty. He opened my mind to so many thoughts. These were things that I initially had the "that is nuts" reaction to, but fortunately I am one of those that does research and I quickly realized they were far from nuts, they simply were not what we'd been taught, and they were conditioned reflexes to consider them nuts. It challenged the perceived norm. His wife would instead call him "Dr. Know" and I think she hit the nail on the head.

Ron Paul doesn't sugar coat things. What it tastes like is the truth. It seems that lies tend to be the thing people most often prefer to eat.

So now that I've mentioned candy coating things that taste bad. Perhaps like me you'll look around and start to see it soon.

Sort:  

There would be no Governments as we know them if they didn't lie/sugar coat
th77Z12EMI.jpg

Ahhh hah.... the true Secret is revealed... achievement unlocked. ;)

I follow and upvoted you @dwinblood
Please help me out for success on steemit

Ha ha ha, Thanks @dwinblood Are there really have a "Satanic Bible"?

I don't own one. that I just read from a library I believe. :) I read it once. Not really worth keeping.

He has good arguments but I don't follow too much politics. The sugar coating is all too prevalent.

self interest being paramount

The trouble with this, and most of what is in that bible, is that it is sorta true.

The truth being, after you have stopped self-sabotaging,
then following your highest bliss/joy, is the best thing you can do for you and the world.

You have to get out of the lower / negative emotions, like fear, anger, self-loathing, revenge, or else what you think is following your bliss is things like drinking more, doing more drugs, try to climb a cliff (while drunk and stoned)

But, after you get out of the negative emotions, the highest joy is in alignment with the best thing you can do for you and the world.

Which sounds an aweful lot like "self interest being paramount"


If you are a narcissist, this isn't advice for you. A narcissists emotions are completely at the bottom. As in, your empathy is turned off.

But, as a narcissist, self interest is all you can think of.

Correct. Like I said the first chapter or so was actually compelling and well written. This would be enough to beguile most people.

This is why I don't follow politics or elections or governments. It's all sugarcoating and flip-flopping. With beautifully crafted words, any propaganda sounds like a dream.

Until you really start to listen and think... then it sounds like a nightmare. :)

The clean water act is another one.

Yeah I almost wrote Clean Air. There are so many of them. B.S. hidden behind an emotionally moving title.


You have described what I have always referred to as selling the candy-coated turd (cct). The Paris Agreement was a cct and Trump was right to reject it. Environmentalism is currently the cct of choice for politicians. I'm all for saving the environment, but don't tax me for carbon credits, or whatever BS scheme they can come up with to put our money in their pockets and then hide behind environmentalism to convince everyone that it's a good idea that no conscientious and decent citizen could refuse. The science is settled my ass, save that BS for the next dumbass because I'm not buying it. Unfortunately for them, I actually know how to read with some comprehension.


I completely agree with everything you wrote. Especially this line...

I'm all for saving the environment, but don't tax me for carbon credits, or whatever BS scheme they can come up with to put our money in their pockets

I have said the same thing for a long time. Carbon Tax is total bullshit power grab that does nothing to correct the problem. It does grant power and put people more under the thumb. It allows the worst offenders to continue offending.

I said I was anti-pollution growing up and before Global Warming became a thing. I was always for us finding ways to reduce pollution, slow deforestation, replace forests, etc.

Then they came up with a brilliant idea. Let's make the bad guy everyone should focus all their attention on be that which ALL of us exhale, and plants actually inhale and need to survive.

thanks for figuring out why we do not want to follow politicians . I follow people like @dwinblood . cheers

The cool thing about following is that it is voluntary. You can start or stop whenever you want.

Good ideas don't require force. :)

yes, agree. we do not want force idea's . only mutual understanding will work for better place in the society

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40