My Reply to State Senator Eric Brakey's Introductory Post Announcing He Is Running For US Senate...

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Senator Brakey and I began a dialogue yesterday where I asked him to define some of the positions he holds and more or less provide me with details relating to a couple different topics. This post started off as a reply to his response to my reply (take breath), and ended up being too long - too much information to put into a reply. Plus I didn't think it would be cool to basically take over his post and drown out everyone else. 

This is my initial reply to his post where I request for him to give me some details on his positions:

Hello Mr. Brakey - I am not a resident of your state, or a member of the republican party (or any party specifically-hope you wont hold that against me), but I would still like to ask you a few questions regarding your positions on a few of the more pressing issues you will encounter in Washington. As a Senator your votes will impact every American - even me all the way down in South Florida, and I don't think I will be alone in wanting to know where you stand. Since seeing your Steemit post I have been looking at your congressional voting record, your main benefactors - funding sources, and I have even watched, and read transcripts of a few of your speeches. I like to be at least somewhat informed, and the best way to see how a politician really thinks - is to look at how they voted in the past, and who is giving them their money.

Because you haven't been in Washington too long (which is probably a good thing), I was only able to find nine (9) votes you have made thus far. In looking at your voting record, the first bill that stands out was also your first sponsored bill "LD652 Concealed Carry Without a Permit", not only does it show your connection to the Paul(s), it gives (me) indication that you will lean more toward the constitution than the "R" after your name. There are a couple more bills on your record that give me hope (I would like to say confidence - maybe after your reply) that you will always do whats in the best interest of the people, not the party - "LD180 Terminal Patients Access to Experimental Treatments" being the perfect example. There are also a couple votes that give me cause for concern "LD319 Medicare for Reproductive Care", but i'm not naive enough to think we're going to agree across the board - so far so good...

What really amazes me is how you were able to get yourself elected with only $41,000 in donations - if that is actually the case, well done. Granted I don't have access to your personal contributions, PAC, and Super PAC contribution data - however considering you are asking us to help you get elected to another term, I would like for you to share that information with Steemit and the voters of your state.

The next few things I would like to have your position on, are generally related to national issues and Donald Trump. I would like to know your opinion of the job (or lack there of) he is doing, your position on the recent provocation of North Korea, your position on the Russia election issue - and weather you believe it to be "fake news" or not, I would like to know how you stand on the ACA, how you will vote on reproductive rights issues in the future - abortion, alternative energy, and last but not least, if and when it comes before the senate, will you support removing the president from office - and please provide "actual" reasons supporting your positions - not party line BS or talking points.Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you...
MDG... 

To his credit Mr. Brakey was prompt with his reply and pretty much straight forward with his answers. They weren't really what I was expecting ( or maybe what I wanted to hear - who knows), but he laid out his positions as they are.

Hi DrDave, 

I haven't made it to the swamp of Washington DC yet. I currently serve in the Maine State Senate, so I spend most of my time at the state capitol in Augusta, ME, but I am running for the US Senate in November 2018.

To answer a few of your questions, people ask me all the time whether or not I support Donald Trump. To that I reply, I support the Constitution of the United States of America and the principles of human liberty enshrined within it. I cannot and will not pledge my allegiance to any person because you cannot be a servant of two masters. When President Trump's actions and proposals align with our Constitution and the principles of liberty, I will support him. When his actions and proposals do not, I will stand against him. For me, the person or the party that proposes an idea matters very little. What matters are the ideas themselves and the principles behind them.

On North Korea, I think we need to tread very carefully. We have experienced enough war these last two decades and the last thing we should want is to engage in another war halfway across the world. We should always exercise diplomacy first.

On Russia, I think its pretty clear that Russia did favor Trump over Clinton. They may have even directly engaged with platforms like Facebook in an attempt to sway American public opinion. And to that, I say, "So what?" I certainly don't like other nations involving themselves in our elections, and also, its hardly cause for World War III. Our own government regularly interferes in the elections of other nations across the world in ways far more troubling, in some cases completely overturning election results and deposing elected leaders. We should never mistake the leaders of Russia for "good guys" --- they are politicians, which generally means they are the most rotten examples humanity has to offer --- and at the same time, I can understand why they would try to sway American public opinion towards Trump. Hillary Clinton was threatening to establish a no fly zone over Syria and shoot Russian planes out of the sky. She was actively calling for American war against their nation. If all they did is post to Facebook, I can hardly blame them. American foreign policy has demonstrated that, when a candidate for office is calling for war against us, we interfere in ways far worse. Of course, Trump has not delivered on his campaign promise of staying out of Syria and ending the failed policy of nation building that we've pursued over the last two administrations, so maybe Russia made a mistake. Whoever is President, the warmongering continues.

Obamacare --- I oppose it, want to repeal it, and believe free markets, increased competition and consumer choice is how we will make healthcare affordable again.

Alternative Energy --- I believe the market should decide energy policy and that means cutting corporate welfare subsidies to all forms of energy (including big oil). Personally, I believe nuclear energy is the most promising technology available to save our environment, establish energy independence and generate affordable energy for Americans. There are many ways to pursue nuclear energy that are safer, cleaner and cheaper than what has been pursued in the past. There is a lot of promise held in research into thorium as an alternative nuclear energy source (instead of uranium) and liquid fluoride reactors as a safer alternative to traditional light water reactors.

I am pro-life. And my pro-life principles extend far beyond the issues of abortion. I believe human life is sacred and that is why I oppose the death penalty and oppose the senseless wars we have been waging without end in the Middle East for seventeen years. The Republican Party likes to call itself the "Pro-Life Party," but it makes a mockery of those ideals every time it proves itself the "Pro-War Party." We cannot call ourselves pro-life while we casually throw the lives of our men and women in uniform into conflicts with no clear mission and dismiss the deaths of millions in other nations as "collateral damage."

I hope that answers most of your questions. Thank you for taking the tie to engage.

For Liberty!
Sen. Eric Brakey 

The following is my response to Mr. Brakey. I am pretty knowledgeable when it comes to most issues and anyone who has looked at my blog can plainly see politics is high on my list of favorite things. I really wanted to engage the Senator and push for more than the party line BS we could get anywhere. I figure if he's asking Steemit to support him, he has to be willing to cut past the typical nonsense and be the real deal for us.

As you can see, if I had posted this as another reply in his post, it would have drown out all the other people who the Senator also engaged with. Not a cool thing to do in my book...

Mr. Brakey, 

I apologize for my confusing comment “you haven't been in Washington too long”… I am/was aware that you serve in the Maine “state” senate –  that mistake got by me. I usually write everything in MS Word and copy into Steemit – it’s much easier than the editor or markdown tools. (that one’s free Microsoft). I meant to say you haven’t been a politician that long and I will stick by my assertion “which is probably a good thing”.  

Thank you for the quick reply, and thank you for engaging in an actual dialogue – I have come to expect the bare minimum from people generally - even less from politicians. Your willingness to engage and discuss topics that actually matter is a welcome change, and much appreciated. Unfortunately that’s likely as far as my appreciation (for your positions) will go. 

With the exception of your position on North Korea and war in general (which we are in total agreement), there is very little that I can definitively say I agree with you on. I had hoped because of your age (not the typical senior citizen politician) and your belief in Ron Paul’s philosophies, we would have a little more in common – and that is unquestionably not the case. 

After reading through your responses to my questions, I am not only disappointed, but I’m very concerned you may just be “more of the same” everyone (on Steemit and Americans generally) have become so terribly accustomed to. I am fortunate enough to have the type of personality that instinctively maintains an open mind, especially when it concerns politics and issues that affect real people – but the saying “keep an open mind but not so much that your brain falls out”, most certainly applies here.  

I’m going to touch on the Russia - Trump “issue” only briefly and counter with a question. You stated above that “When President Trump's actions and proposals align with our Constitution and the principles of liberty, I will support him. When his actions and proposals do not, I will stand against him”. The question is - can you honestly say, with everything we know to be true, that anything this vile human being has done, even remotely aligns with our constitution? I could literally write a book describing the many ways this president is destroying the very principals you claim to hold most dear. If you truly are receptive to an alternate view, just check out my blog – I don’t claim to know everything, but everything I know can be verified. I digress…  

Now on to the ACA (AKA Obamacare) – with all the complexities contained within Americas health care system, I would hope there is more to your position than the typical “nope, don’ like it, gotta go”, republican boiler plate response contained in two lines of text. I know I’m being a little sarcastic but I take your answer (or lack thereof) not as sarcasm, but as an insult to my intelligence. Everything contained within that boiler plate BS is contradictory to the facts. Is there really any choice when insurers can decide what coverage they want to provide to you, charge whatever they want for that coverage, and more or less can refuse any policy – essentially disqualifying an individual with pre-existing conditions? I would welcome any data proving I’m wrong – please…  Once again, I digress… 

As far as your pro life position is concerned, I whole heartedly understand and respect your position. I probably won’t agree with you at all so I’ll just look at it from a slightly different perspective - you are someone who’s position is anti abortion / pro life, and is also against Medicare and Medicaid funds being spent on contraception – right. If you really were trying to prevent abortions from taking place, wouldn’t it make more sense, to be in support of every program to provide contraceptives, essentially eliminating the need for abortions.  

Now on to alternative energy – I was amazed to see you supported Nuclear power, and more amazed you consider it to be an alternative energy source. You should definitely consider asking the Japanese how wonderful and clean nuclear reactors are. As far as Thorium LS and LF reactors, I believe the term is “non starter” – in more ways than just the political designation. If you truly are any kind of champion for environmental protection and alternate energy production, there are technologies right now that could eliminate the use of fossil fuels 100% - they don’t need more research, or need to be developed further, or aren’t proven, or any of the typical excuses one would use to keep the status quo - they are available right now. The only thing that is needed is the political will to actually implement the reform – at this point I’m just wondering what energy company is your top contributor, to only endorse nukes is a little strange ( to me anyway) 

I apologize this got a little winded but I figure if you answer my questions here, people from your state will be able to look at your responses and be that much more informed on election day… 

Thanks…  

MDG…     

Senator Brakey, 

Thank you for taking the time to engage with me and answer my questions. I hope you will consider keeping in touch with me whenever you want an opposing viewpoint. I truly hold no animosity toward you because of our different views, and genuinely believe the only thing people on either side of an issue need is a dialogue... BTW I would love the opportunity to debate these topics further... Time and place my friend... :)

Sort:  

great post!

Thanks... Much appreciated...

Awsome post you are asking all the right questions! Well done man.

Look what a quick Google search will get you... This is who we have running for high office in the US - wow... One thing I can say about this guy - when this video came out, he owned it and didn't do the typical non-denial denial. Just said yep that's me partying and having fun - so what... He gets props for having balls but I disagree with him on pretty much everything...



I figure they'll be most appreciated just before November next year...

Grate just what politics needs a comedian.I wonder how long it will be before he ends up in the Whitehouse?lol.Mabey Jim Carey should run he might be taken more seriously than the current monkeys that are in there.Thanks for the reply I look foward to more of your post:)

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 5400 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by drdave from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.06 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72