You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Philosophy of Ayn Rand

in #politics7 years ago

Thanks for a great overview. Ayn Rand's ideas seem to be much more popular today than they were a decade or two ago. It's interesting to see how ideologues in various spheres like to cite her work for their disparate views on government and policy. I think Rand's robotic rationality only gets us part of the way in understanding and explaining humanity, but certainly we can learn a lot from her ideas.

Sort:  

Nicely put @donkeypong
I couldnt agrer more with the robotic nature of this lense of reality. A moral system established on a binary, whatever it is that I do must benefit myself first and foremost, and if not then it simply shouldnt be done? That leaves a lot up to question, though it bares a striking resemblance to current events and elected members of governments all around the world.

Skrt

Yes, I agree, very nicely put @donkeypong...Ayn Rand offers good food for thought but her ideas really only go so far. I for one, got annoyed with each of her books I attempted to read back in my 20s, but appreciated that they existed none the less because they (her thinking) initiated so many interesting ideas and conversations and hold an important place in our evolution of thought.

Yes, exactly. It's kind of like those idea posts on Steemit. I don't agree with them all, but I upvote them if they frame a topic well and stimulate discussion.

yes, me too and thanks for your response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72