You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bill Gates makes a case for consumption taxes rather than income taxes

in #politics7 years ago

Bill Gates is seems to be really delving into a tax restructuring. Sadly we do need some tax system to maintain infrastructure. The one I particularly like was taxing automation. Lets face it, people as employees are VERY expensive so I don't blame businesses for wanting to replace me and you with an automated system. But, if you start putting the same taxes on those systems, then companies will bring back people and the money will go to people rather than a coorporate office. Big corp isnt stupid and they know if it was the same price to run a machine as it is a human, they will pick a human bc people want to interact with people.

The consumption tax is indeed interesting. I think it could be beneficial. I disagree that it would destroy the poor because it could be structured like NYC (ie less than 100 dollars in clothing is tax free) and if essential groceries were tax free, then I see where this would not hurt the lower income brackets. So just using NYC alone tells you that the registars are programmed to know what people are buying thus know what to tax people.

Sort:  

Nice thoughts! I like the idea of taxing automation, but there is no need for, or do I think any jobs that go to automation are ever going to come back. I watched this video on the economics of automation and universal basic income and this idea seems pretty logical to me, but the government does do some pretty illogical things a lot of the time. I'd be perfectly fine with not working a Job full of obligation and external pressure, I put enough pressure on myself as it is. I would much rather be on a platform like this being creative and intuitive, creating value for people any way I saw fit. Thank you for the inspirations.

Nice thoughts! I like the idea of taxing automation, but there is no need for, or do I think any jobs that go to automation are ever going to come back. I watched this video on the economics of automation and universal basic income and this idea seems pretty logical to me, but the government does do some pretty illogical things a lot of the time. I'd be perfectly fine with not working a Job full of obligation and external pressure, I put enough pressure on myself as it is. I would much rather be on a platform like this being creative and intuitive, creating value for people any way I saw fit. Thank you for the inspirations.

Yes, it seems to be effective approach as for choice beetween human resources and automation. There is something like this in Japan regarding foreign employees. If you hire someone from abroad, you HAVE to pay him much more then to local guy. In this case there is no reason to try to hire low qualified foreigners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44