Disillusioned kiwi in oz

in #political8 years ago

As an indigenous kiwi female living in Australia for 12 years it has become apparent to me that this country has the most racist individuals I have ever encountered in my life. Beautiful country but so divided on so many levels. So then I have to ask myself how can this be? When it has such a diverse multicultural society. Yet there is so much division throughput the cultures. In saying that too how is it when 'Australia' has its own indigenous culture, then why is it not accepted? I have asked white Australians what there culture is and the answer I'm faced with is beers and bbq's. Really? You have individuals that have lived, worked and fought for this land yet you know nothing about them!! I hear Australians whinging about all the immigrants taking over 'their' country and I shake my head in disbelief and reply 'but that was your ancestors'. Yet I still get derogatory comments about the 'rightful owners' of this country. I'm disheartened and disillusioned by the division of one country when at the end of the day it is 'one country'. I still don't understand the division of the country by states and how totally different the rules and laws of each state are. By doing so are they not compelling their residents to embark on a massive crusade of division? Just saying. I'm donnie by the way 👍

Sort:  

Congratulations @kiwilassinoz! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wеll dеsсribеd

Congratulations @kiwilassinoz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50