You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What a strange lot you Americans are.

in #political8 years ago

I believe national identity is an important part of national pride and without a preserved culture there is no identity. I agree with the now President Elect Donald Trump when he said "without borders you don't have a country." You also don't have one if you are just in the mixing bowl of the global society and cannot make your own choices as a nation about pretty much anything you can think of. When your armed forces are risking their lives, not to defend us as in 'Queen and Country' any more but to be forsaken for political agendas, you have no country...

I am English and I voted for Brexit and would have voted for Trump had I been born there instead.

What strikes me as interesting is these are special privileged moments in time, almost one in many lifetimes opportunities to make the right choice for future generations. Yes it may get bad in the short term especially, this had crossed my mind before voting but overall did I want to tell my grandchildren I never took the opportunity when I could to say I don't think this is right and to want to have pride in where I was born?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50