Gun Control versus Mental Health Debate - SAME THING?!

in #political7 years ago (edited)


After the Florida shooting people started coming out of the woodwork to debate the gun issue in America. The day of the shooting I was watching a live stream where we saw a video of a guy who claimed that he knew the solution. He said that gun control didn't matter and that it needed to be overlooked in favour of something that no one talks about and that was the mental health aspect.

Now, I was sat there thinking to myself that I was sure, maybe four years ago, those two things were one in the same. I had done a project about it in high school, so how did that perspective seem to switch so quickly? Whether or not I learned correctly or incorrectly at the time, I feel like it's simple enough to clarify now.

Are those two heavily debated topics actually different at all?

I'd also like to add, that if I'm wrong about this, start a conversation with me. I don't see the difference all that much, but if you do and I'm wrong, talk me around.

I've had the following point made to me on this site which attempts to refute the idea that Donald Trump took away the safety net provided by the mentioned Obama legislation. Whether they are right or not, I still retain my opinion, but I thought it might be nice to put the opposite viewpoint here.

Want more videos which attempt to bring reason and common sense to 2018? Click here.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

hey I saw you in the comments of the davidpakman vid. Great responses, even though I cannot say I agree with you fully. If you want to get in on the growing discord from the steemit gun community, here it is: https://discord.gg/ewbyKtN and we would love to see you there if you want to have some civil discussion with us. Feel free to hop in

Sounds good, maybe I'll pop by from time to time. Discussions are always a step in the right direction toward eventually finding solutions. Thanks for the invite!

no problem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51