Poker Talk 101 - Powered by Steem Poker League - "Underdog"

in #poker7 years ago

underdog.jpg

Poker Talk 101

In poker tournaments, do you root for the underdog? Or the pro?

Any time I watch a poker tournament on television, I am always amazed by the diversity seen at the tables. Rarely do you see tournaments that are filled with nothing but poker pros. Unless it is designed to be played by pros only. For example, the yearly WSOP main event, probably the most popular poker tournament among non-pros, and pros alike. Each year thousands of people flock to Vegas to take their shot at winning stacks of high society.

My question to you is, who do you root for? Are you wanting to see the pro win it all? Or are you wanting to see a poker nobody take down a card shark? For me, I think it depends. Let me explain...

If it is a tournament such as the WSOP, while I do want to see a underdog take home the millions, it does not make for great television when you do not know who you are watching. To me the most exciting WSOP has a final table of mainly pros, with a couple of amateurs. Any more newbies, and I start to lose interest. But what about other tournaments where the non-pro players are minimal, and the only players you can root for are pros. Do you go for the pro with less experience? Or root for your favorite player?

Those types of tourneys are the most difficult for me to decide who to root for. I have a small set of favorite poker pros who I love to see win, but then again, I also like to see new comers take down the vets. After all, the long time pros should have enough money, let others win a little. I guess who you want to win doesn't really matter as long as it's a fun, and exciting tournament. However, that being said, I never want to see a final table with nothing but weekend poker players -- can you say, BORING!!!

Thank you for joining us in our poker discussion this evening.


Who Do You Root For? The Pro or The Underdog?



Lucksacks.com Steem Poker League has already paid out over 6,000 SBD/STEEM to date!

Join for Free and win your share ...


Register at Lucksacks.com
Then login and click PLAY.


All Steem Poker League games hosted by Lucksacks.com are free to join and free to play.
Lucksacks.com is brought to you by @tuck-fheman, @bigpchef and all of your upvotes!

Images/Logos by @bigpchef, @tuck-fheman, @internetguy, @kryptik, @fivefiveeleven, @tomekkk
All images used are owned or licensed to Lucksacks.com or we have permission to use.


Sort:  

ALWAYS the underdog!

I try to not get too stuck in the pro vs. underdog mentality. There are pros that I like (Sammy Farha, Gus Hansen, Antonio Esfandiari, Phil Laak, Tom Dwan) and some that I don't (Tony G, Phil Hellmuth, Mike Matusow). It's probably more of a personality / analytical mentality that I appreciate, rather than the bratty/entitled pro's & amatuers.

totally with @nicnas on this one, I am always for the underdog! I love a good comeback!~

I like underdogs. It is good to see some amateurs at the final table because they can throw the pros off their game. The pros play together so much they usually have good reads on each other.

Bet money on the pro, but root for the underdog.. ;-)

I always root for the bad guy. It's more fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79