Poker Tip Man Armen-"Open-ended Straight Draw"

in #poker8 years ago (edited)

Open-ended straight draw: When you are on a straight draw, you have completed four out of five cards to a straight and you need the fifth card from either end to complete your straight. For example if you are holding Q10 of Diamonds and the flop is 9 of spades, J of hearts and 2 of clubs. You have an open-ended straight draw. You need an eight or a king to complete the straight.
    Like most poker players, I get really excited when I flop an open-ended straight draw. I know that I have a good chance to hit a straight and potentially taking down a big pot. But, before I start celebrating...I need to know my odds of completing the straight.
    How do I calculate my odds of hitting a straight and is it worth the investment? The first thing that I do is count the number of outs I have. I'm going to use the scenario I mentioned above. Since we need an eight or king to complete the straight, we have a total of 8 outs (4 eights and 4 kings). Each out gives us about 2% on the turn and 2% on the river (1 out of 47 on the turn and 1 out of 46 on the river for each out). Since we have eight outs, that gives us about 16% on the turn and 16% on the river. For a total of about 32%, basically 1 out of 3. In order for us to make a call we need 3 to 1 on our potential win to continue playing. If we are not going to get at least 3 to 1 on our money then we shouldn't chase the straight.
    Chasing a straight and hitting the straight will help you win big pots, but it can also spell disasters. Some player tend to chase an open-ended straight draws even if there is a flush draw or a paired board out there as well and they don't have a flush draw. I have learned to fold open-ended straight draws when the board is paired or there is a flush draw on the board. More than often you hit your straight when someone else hits their flush or full-house and you end-up losing your entire chip stack because it's hard to lay down a straight.


Play Hard, Play Smart and Count your Outs

Sort:  

As usual, fish-think and terrible advice that clearly comes from someone with no real poker experience.

32% needs 2 to 1 to call, not 3 to 1. Odds in poker (as in most gambling) are expressed in a L:W format. 50% is even money (1 to 1) 33% is 2 to 1, 20% is 4 to 1.

Ignoring implied and reverse implied odds, if our percentage chance of winning is 33% that means we can call just about a PSB. So if the pot is 50, and our opponent bets 50, our call of 50 to win 100 already in the pot is 2:1 (which will break even if we win 33% of the time.)

Great advice...I've never been caught with my pants down against a flush or full house, you can almost smell when they are going to happen...but I have had a few hands go belly up on me at the Texas Hold 'Em table...caught pocket Queens once, caught 2 Kings and another Queen on the flop...thought I had it in the bag, the lady next to me matched every bet I made through the turn and river, she turned over a King and Queen to take me down...some lessons we learn the hard way...LOL

Thats terrible, that happened to me as well. I had pocket 6's flopp was 7,7,6. The guy had 7,6....lol. I bet on the river he min raised me and I only called. Saved my chip stack by not going allin. I got mad props from other players at the table.

Unless you were like 9200bbs deep, you both get mad anti-props for getting to the river with any chips left to bet.

C-

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63