Poker Tip Man Armen- "Heads-Up Play"

in #poker8 years ago

Heads-Up “Cash Game” and Two Man “Sit n Go”


    Playing heads-up poker is one part of the game the I enjoy most. I'm going to share some of my strategies the I have learned playing heads-up poker.


    The first thing you need to understand is how the cards flop. Since we are only using 12 cards out of 52; which is 23% of the deck, things change drastically compared to a full 9 handed game. The game becomes “high-hand” dominant. Like “ace high” and “king high” are winners most of the time. Kickers don’t make much of a difference when you have a pair. Hitting a pair is pretty much a winner. Flushes, trips and full houses become extinct. Straights are more common than trips!!! What? How could that be? Since we are only playing with ¼ of the deck, theoretically all cards should be dispersed evenly throughout the entire deck. If you shuffle the deck and take the top 12 cards, theoretically we should get one Ace, one King, one Queen...etc, three Diamonds, three Spades, three Clubs and three Hearts. Go ahead a try it yourself. Shuffle a deck a grab the top 12 and see what hands you can make using all 12 cards (try this at least 10 times). Did you notice a pattern? Did you get more than five of the same suit? I bet you didn't. Did you make a straight? I bet you did. How about trips? Not that many. As you can see, you can make a straight more often than you can make trips. Hitting a flush with only five or even six of the same suit is difficult, since they still need to align right and not be part of the burn or in your opponent's hand. Funny how math works, huh?


         “If A=B and B=C, then A=C”
      -Math Class, I think 8th grade


    Now that you know what it looks like to play with only 12 cards let's talk about the most important aspect of the game; position. When playing heads-up the small blind becomes the button so the small blind is last to act fre-flop and after the flop. I have made it a ritual to raise pre-flop on the button no matter what I'm holding (3X or 2X). Chances are, both players are going to miss the flop and you can just take it down with a continuation bet on the flop. If you get a call then use your skills and what you are working with to make the right decision on the turn and river. Be adamant about raising pre-flop on the button, this will expose your opponent's strength. Most importantly, it will get them frustrated. Once they are frustrated they will call you down with a marginal hand when you are holding the nuts or a very strong hand. When facing an opponent that raises every time on the button, I like to call them down with ace high early in the game as long as I'm not committing more than 20% of my stack. In most cases I take it down and totally break the opponent, since I called them down with only ace high. This forces them to change their strategy since they know you might call them down with ace high or even king high.


    You should change your strategy when playing late in a heads-up Sit N Go or heads-up in a tournament when the blinds are high and you only have 8 or less big blinds. I suggest pushing all-in with any ace, any king or pocket pairs. You can push with just about anything if the small blind just calls the blind. You can also push all-in on the button with absolutely nothing just to take the blinds if you're feeling it. Just be careful and pick and choose your battles.


    Poker is such a complex game and explaining it all can take forever and ever. I try to give you some key points that can give you an edge and let you evolve into a great poker player that plays like you and only you.


Play Hard, Play Smart and Play Like You

Image taken from pokerprofessor.comLink:https://www.google.com/search?q=heads+up+poker&client=ms-android-verizon&prmd=vsin&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjXq7KzsJ_PAhVMMz4KHQwaCo0Q_AUICSgD&biw=360&bih=560#imgrc=TMIAzx3oO_hrHM%3A

Sort:  

Straights are more common than trips!!!

Not true. First off, there aren't 12 cards, each player is using 7 cards (5 community and 2 in hand). Here are the odds of making each type of hand in a 7 card hand: http://people.math.sfu.ca/~alspach/comp20/

You should change your strategy when playing late in a heads-up Sit N Go or heads-up in a tournament when the blinds are high and you only have 8 or less big blinds. I suggest pushing all-in with any ace, any king or pocket pairs. You can push with just about anything if the small blind just calls the blind. You can also push all-in on the button with absolutely nothing just to take the blinds if you're feeling it. Just be careful and pick and choose your battles.

This is really bad advice. First off, assuming you are only shoving or folding, you need to have rigorous ranges for what you are shoving and folding, and ace/king/pairs is not the range.

Assuming you only shove or fold with 8bb, this is the shove range:
61.7%, 22+ Kx+ Q2s+ Q4o+ J2s+ J7o+ T4s+ T7o+ 95s+ 97o+ 85s+ 87o 74s+ 64s+ 53s+

And this is the calling range of the BB:
47.5%, 22+ Kx+ Q2s+ Q7o+ J6s+ J8o+ T7s+ T9o 98s

That said, only shoving or folding is a bad assumption. You can double the amount of money you expect to win by not only shoving or folding. In fact, 7bb poker was solved and the solution is surprising: limp your big pocket pairs and big suited connectors along with some trash offsuit hands, shove most of the rest, and fold the bottom 10-15%. This raises your winrate from the sb from 1.5bb/100 (winrate only shoving) to 2.9bb/100.

I dont think you understand what I said about playing with 12 cards. 2 for for each player that's 4...3 burn cards and 5 on the board. That is equal to 12. Just try shuffling and grabing the top 12 cards and see what hands you can make with all 12 cards. Let's let others be the judge as far as being helful or not. I take your input into consideration maybe you can try to take my advice into consideration without your preconceived negative input. It looks as if your totally into badgering and harassing. I dont see you posting on other poker post and im sure you can come-up with something to say about other posts. So stop targeting and try to be more open minded to other poker styles. If you get 2 top pro's in a room, they will argue all day about who is right or wrong. Anyways thanks for your input.

I posted on your blog because I follow you. If I don't post on another poker thread it's because I don't follow that person or didn't see it pop up on my feed or in the poker section. But I have commented and corrected the mistakes of others in blogs I saw

examples:

@jokerpravis wrote a hand analysis that was pretty good but I slightly disagreed with and wanted to post my thoughts.

@goingpaper made a thread with some misplayed hands that I gave advice on.

I follow and respect @churdtzu, but posted my thoughts here in this one because I thought it was a ridiculous assertion that poker players use ESP.


I did not downvote you (and I've never downvoted you), and am not harassing, just correcting mistakes in a non confrontational manner.

Don't understand why @kushed is downvoting a well thought out comment with correct information that you may want to include in your post.



Poker is a complex strategy game that often has incorrect answers that need to be improved. As you said, sometimes there are situations where it's unclear what the absolute best answer is, but sometimes it's also clear there is a very wrong answer to something. For instance, imagine two pros arguing about what their 3betting or shoving range should be against a looser opener with a certain amount of big blinds, that is something where it's unclear what the best answer is because it depends on another piece of information.

Coming up with a perfect solution is usually difficult or impossible for humans at this current time, but improving an answer is much easier. Shoving only Ax, Kx, pocket pairs, or "anything" is not nearly the correct range if you were only shoving or folding, so I posted what the exact shove/fold range would be, and also posted that that strategy is not optimal, saying what the basic optimal strategy is for shortstack play. This is the type of situation where you have all the information you need, and two well-informed pros won't differ on their opinion of what is correct.

Also, it's not relevant that there are 3 burn cards and that the other player receives cards. If there were 30 burn cards it does not change the fact that each player gets 2 cards in his hand and 5 on the board meaning 7 cards. And straights are not more common than trips in any handed game of holdem, that is the point.

Damn straight daut. This guy is just giving plain bad advice in general and making a mockery of poker.

Thank you for your continued support. I know what you can do to get some upvotes and make a couple of bucks. You can make a tutorials on how to down vote posts. You seem to be very good at that. I still can't figure it out. Another thought, you can do a post on how to be a daut44 gruppie.

You are just taking advantage of people who have no idea on how to play poker and you tell them shoddy advice that will probably make them lose money. I would love to make posts on my poker knowledge but it just isn't worth my time as I work a stressful fulltime job. All I can do is tell people when someone is trying to run a scam which is what you are doing. if you have actually won money at poker in the long term and haven't just run good, then I would be completely surprised.

Want to apologize for being arrogant in my posts. I've just spent 10 years studying poker in depth and playing professionally, and take pride in my findings and let the zeal overtake me.

But please keep posting, steemit needs all the poker content it can get!

Cool man...sounds good. You seem to be a stand-up guy.

Hi @armen,

You have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

Keep on Steeming more amazing posts!

Goodluck!
~RHW~

Please reconsider choosing this author as a featured author in future please. There is something fishy going on here. He also is receiving huge payouts already.

What is wrong with you? Instead of trying so so hard to make me look bad, you should try to make your posts better. Your acting very immature. Stop looking at your neighbors law, just water yours. I just made that up. If you find it online please dont forget to down vote.

I don't think it's immature to root out scammers like you. Whoever you are, (complexring/ kushed/steemed), I'm just trying to let the people know that the information that you are giving is almost worthless and that it's likely that your account is a sockpuppet. I would hate myself and go against all my gut instincts to not pursue this line of action against you. Immaturity would be to let this go on and do nothing about it, yet knowing the information I do.

I think you're just targeting my post. Im starting to feel harassed. Why dont you just post something better about poker. You claim you don't have time but you certainly have time to be harassing me.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53