Poke

in #poke5 years ago

I bet you're thinking I'm going to be talking about Pokemon in this post but I had a random thought about a function that existed (maybe still exists dunno) on Facebook. Being able to poke random users. Now I have no idea what the idea behind it was in the first place as I never used it and it seemed to die down pretty quickly, I can think of a lot more options where this could be of better use here on the Steem platform, though.

As stake is being distributed more and more while curation stake is being reduced due to the rise of dapps and roi bots a poke function would be really helpful. Maybe it could be a link to a post you'd want said user/curator to read or you want him to check out your recent posts. If it would be restricted to both accounts agreeing to get poked it would probably quickly eliminate abuse. I'm sure curators could find a lot of great usecases for it too, I can think of many for @ocd.

Thoughts? ^^

Sort:  

lol, I remember some pretty epic poking-wars when I was younger and still used FB.

I like the idea though! Perhaps act similar to DM's on Twitter in regards to being able to set whether you agree to receive pokes from everyone, or only those you follow, or only a manually curated whitelist. Blocking users would be essential.

@partiko already has private messaging, so I'm not sure if they would necessarily benefit from this, but maybe this is more geared towards one of the web based frontends like @steempeak? Could be a fun little feature to test out! Let the poke wars begin ^_^

Posted using Partiko Android

You and me both! I distinctly remember polling someone just for the sake of poking them. And it went both ways!

Maybe @partiko can implement this?

Posted using Partiko Android

There was a joke about guys who were poking too much on FB ^^

Didnt know you had another account. And you usually talk Pokemon? Really? lol.

Poke? Might be a good idea. Not a poke per se, but rather a clickable upvote/support/interaction button that doesnt have a monetary aspect to it. Id love to see what it does and would it be abused if theres really no incentive to abuse it.

Nah just cause of my avatars. :D yeah welcome this is my shitposting account!

It would be good to be honest , I don't need to random spam you from Discord if this exists

xD why do you need to do it in general

As far as I know, "poking" still exists on Facebook, IF you can find it.

Poking (or some version thereof) might be a really handy tool (providing it doesn't eat too many RCs) to help bring life back to accounts that seem to be going dormant. Since we don't really have a true messenger system here (I don't count wallet memos), a "poke" might be something really useful. Especially if you got something like 80 characters of (non-hyperlink) text to add to the poke.

"poking" still exists on Facebook, IF you can find it.

I bet it's easier to find than the "delete account" page. :D

I poke everyone until they poke back, and then I collect their soul forever in a poke that's left un-poked back!

Posted using Partiko Android

alexvanaken created a custom JSON file

‘’’
poke acidzapps
‘’’

Posted using Partiko iOS

I thought the function was to see if they are still alive(active). Like you poke something to make sure it's dead, lol?

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been trying to poke an inactive user for months already.... :-\

Hmmm... Maybe you need to Poke while sending RCs, Upvotes or Steem to avoid spamming! Maybe a good idea!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, to use your pokes well! Either a steem fee and/or a limit amount per day.

Maybe the same amount of RCs as it takes to claim an account 😏🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66