SPU Poetry Contest #1: "If only I had a match to light"

in #poetsunited6 years ago


If only I had a match to light

Since I have lost my silences
I have also lost my voice…
peddling an eternal currency
in life’s bustling marketplace

I have not found the key to myself
the one that will get the high gates
to swing wide open and the lights
to come on, at once

When not denied entrance, entirely
I fumble in the dark and stumble
blindly, run into doors and walls
groping and hoping

I knock my head against false ceilings
and trip on traps I forgot to remember
then start at the sight of my reflection
bumping into myselves.

© Yahia Lababidi

This poem is in response to the following poetry prompt, Lost by @lymepoet for SPU Poetry Contest #1

(Images: Pixabay)

Sort:  

I knock my head against false ceilings
and trip on traps I forgot to remember
then start at the sight of my reflection
bumping into myselves.

I think this is probably my favorite verse. It really gets at the heart of what you're trying to communicate. I think the false ceilings part was phenomenal and bumping into myselves highlights the single obstacle we all share (and having to eat things, I guess :P But doesn't that feed into the opposition of self idea?)

I have to agree with @caleblailmusik. The last stanza was my favourite - it adds so much value of confusion and being lost and finding yourself at the same time. Catastrophic! Nice write @yahialababidi

Thank you, for hearing me, @poetrybyjeremy. This is the mystery and miracle of poetry that, when we speak most intimately and stand stripped down to the soul, we speak for Everyone!

Many thanks, for your attention and warm encouragement 🙏🏼

It's not so much a mystery for me. In the end, everything stripped down, we are all humans who have very similar needs. Empathy and understanding connect us, so in its raw naked form, poetry is what helps us understand one another.

Well said 👌🏼

There are the lower selves, which bind and blind, and the Higher Self, which liberates, beyond ego and desire and all specificity...

The challenge, of course, is to live in that vast, illumined space; and we do so when we are attuned to our purpose/calling.

Thanks, for your close attention 🙏🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40