SPU Poetry Contest #1: Paper Hat Captain

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

SPU Poetry Contest

This is my entry for week one of the SPU Poetry Contest. For this week, excerpts were taken from poems contributed by three resident steemit poets. Contestants were to choose one of these three verses as the inspiration for a new work.

The verse I chose was:

life's wind in my head,
it refuses to play dead
and keeps resisting the forces of changing

This verse was taken from the poem A Limerick about my birthday by steemit poet @madevi.

Here is the poem that the verse inspired:
ship-2804076_1280.jpg
pixabay.com

Paper Hat Captain

by veckinon


I
am a terrible sailor

It's not that
I don't have the stomach for it,

though I admit that I don't

It's not that
I have never studied the sextant or the stars,

Though I admit, I haven't

It's not that
I fear the open sea,

Though I admit, I do fear it

It's not even that
I long for home,

I don't.

What makes me a terrible sailor is
That I lose my course
with even the slightest breeze.


If you fancy yourself a poet I would encourage you to check out and enter the contest yourself: SPU Poetry Contest

Thanks for looking and if you enjoyed my work, feel free to browse my other posts.

Best wishes,
@veckinon

Sort:  

I do like how you presented a unique layout that worked for your poem. I was eager to know what made you a terrible sailor after the pattern has been established. It's quite personal and reflective. Also, thank you for participating :)

Thanks for your comments. I look forward to participating in more of your contests in the future.

Kept me wondering the whole time what made you a terrible sailor. It's hard to stay course at times. I suppose that is the ultimate test. Choosing a course or goal, persevering and accomplishing it. Keep it up :)

Thanks for reading and for your comment. I tried to capture the feeling that the original verse gave me while still playing with the idea of life's wind interfering with one's goals. I went through a couple drafts and the one I settled on was the shortest and simplest. I felt that was appropriate given the inspiration was a limerick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32