SPU Poetry Contest #3: Mother Love

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

ian-espinosa-177961-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

My father's hands when he struck me
were toasted the rich color of the mud
where I hid in the ditch past the creek
past our yard past the slamming screen door

where I steadied my shaking, pale fingers in cool,
slippery Earth. Let her coat me completely
with her wetness, singing love is the Goddess
who holds you after the rain has gone
,

thinking love is the smashing of Thor's hammer,
a cosmic reminder to men they need not
throw women across the knee of sexuality
and strike us senseless because we

are like the earth; more than the holes
dug in us, more than what moves inside
our bodies or what grows on it or any shape
we are pressured into. Have you ever seen

a sculpture 100 years down the road?
That was me, later, when the mud had dried
feet planted, arms raised in the sun, head bowed
supplication to the protective Mother divine.

That was me after my father tried to break me
of becoming a woman who might be hurt
by men because there was no greater terror
to him than the violence of which men are capable.

There is no logic to be found here excepting
a cultural legacy stating women cause and are for
hurting, a country built on what was she wearing
and what did you say to provoke him.

I scratched up bits of the Mother in my hair
for weeks after that beating, drawing each crumb
from my scalp to my lips, calmly swallowing dirt
like my father did the American dream.

This poem was written based on the following prompt:

"With hazy memories of my old cottage of clay
I thank thee for the lessons of this day."

from last week's winning poem, Hello Poverty! Remember Me?, by @tej37.

Recent Posts

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I love it when someone captures the power and energy of words in a poem. Definitely felt! Here is a post I made last week that you may be interested in. Seems to fit in with your poem. Hope this is OK>https://steemit.com/steemit/@mistermercury/rising-above-patriarchy

Indeed it is, and I am grateful you did. That is a phenomenal post. Thank you for reading and sharing.

I guess your motive behind this poetry was 100% optimistic and this has yield
you a successful outcome. You will definitely make history and your name will
be forever be remembered. @shawnamawna.

Thank you for this loving vote of confidence.

Wow. This made me cry and gave me goosebumps and I had to reread it. No comment can do justice on this. So honest, raw and powerful. I'm speechless.

Just seeing this comment. Thank you. It came from somewhere I haven't looked in awhile. :/

I can understand how difficult that must have been. Some things we get to experience again every time we go back there mentally, and it takes a lot of strength to go there and stand strong.

Such a beautiful and devastating poem! Each stanza tells a story, or a part of the story, the language straightforward but its reverberations both complex and complicated...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39