SPU Poetry Contest #3: Woman of 'Steal'

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

BQ7oTrtlXpj.jpg

She is a woman of still,
My breath she did take away,
And I lost all power of will,
I just loved and loved away...

Oh! She is a woman of steal,
She snatched my heart and caused me pain,
Her love, a sweet but lethal pill,
Yet I still loved and loved her again...

Each day, I loved her anew,
Today: the lessons, tomorrow: love renewed,
And each day, as the reddish sun sets,
I knew I loved, I was loving to death...

But alas, she wilted at the kill,
Returning my heart, now set as stone,
Oh! She is a woman of steel,
If only she didn't steel that which she stole...

For now I try and try again,
But my heart, my heart, cant love again...

Yours,
SladenSpeaks

This poem was inspired by the prompt...
"I thank thee for the LESSONS of this day"
Culled from the poem here... https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@tej37/spu-poetry-contest-2-hello-poverty-remember-me by @tej37

The prompt (lessons in particular) was taken out of context of the original poem, and reinterpreted to suit my purposes, as allowed by contest rules...

This post was written for the 3rd SPU Poetry contest. You can also enter by visiting the link below...

https://steemit.com/contest/@poetsunit/spu-poetry-contest-3-announcement-winners-of-2

Sort:  

It was definitely interesting the way to take inspiration. There are lessons in heartbreak, so you are looking at something constructive in something destructive, which is nice. I did enjoy the interplay between the still, steel and steal as well. nice write

Thanks a lot, I appreciate your kind words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39