SPU Poetry Contest #1: Lest She be the death of me...

in #poetsunited7 years ago

PhotoGrid_1512150009498.jpg

I showed you my heart, and told you my fears
I gave all for you, for many many years...
I needed you, so I gave you me
Oh I needed you, but you wouldn't come for free...

So I went away, and I invested
In your kind of man, so you'd be interested...
And upon my return, you opened your arms
If only I knew, from them I would have ran...

For as one arm blinded me, the other ripped out my heart
The butterflies in my stomach, you transformed to angry bats...
Your smile, your laughter, all deception, all lies..
And as love fades my eyes reopen, its time to say my goodbyes...

Lest you be the death of me...

This poem was inspired by photography and poetry... https://steemit.com/poetry/@warpedpoetic/photography-and-poetry by @warpedpoetic

Sort:  

I enjoyed how the poem progressed - from changing yourself to someone, then have him rip your heart out and turn the butterflies to "angry bats". This was filled with emotion - great write.

Thanks, means a lot.

This is nice.... Story in poetic lines... I love the way you tell your story.... I love the emotions embedded in it

Thanks... Appreciate
90% of my poetry express my emotions at certain moments in time. This one is actually true

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36