You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPU Poetry Contest #3: Burnt Alive

I truly enjoyed this story. I realised early on how you took the inspiration, and it was quite clever. The drowning associated with the drowning (and burning) of witches - very creative inspiration.

What I also enjoyed is that, although it is set in some time long ago, these words and emotions are relevant to these days. Innocent people being charged with crimes they did not commit. Lies, frame-ups - they are a huge part of our society. In seeking justice, we are bound to do even more injustice. I do love poetry that makes me think beyond the poem! Great write once again :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the feedback! After I wrote it, I thought it was relevant to us now too. The burning of a witch can be simply spreading a rumor and watching them get in to trouble because of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69