SPU poetry contest #1: WINDS

in #poetsunited6 years ago

gratitude for the prompt https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@madevi/a-limerick-about-my-birthday

WINDS

Life's wind keeps resisting
The forces of changing,
But lo,
My feet tread the soil of this life
Kicking up a thick veil of dust
That once inhaled, reveals
A community of souls within.

knight-2902199__340.jpg
These, the wraiths of other lifetimes,
Scream for voice as they assault
The walls of my ignorance.

This dream, I swore was my own,
Has been stormed
By these other selves
Forcing me to rearrange
The furniture in my head.

beach-768587__340.jpg

"I will change", I mutter,
Opening the shuttered panes
To life's fierce winds
That sweep me.

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading this. Thank you for participating! I would recommend to not use pictures apart from headers and footers, as they may distracted the reading flow. I liked the part

Kicking up a thick veil of dust
and how that became voices. good job!

Thanks for the tip. I was thinking the same thing myself. Look forward to your contests and posts. By the way: my former dearly beloved is now in a same-gender relationship, and my daughter is getting married soon to her partner. I'm a loving participant in their lives.

I'm not sure what prompted you to say this information, but I do appreciate it nonetheless. Congratulations to your daughter, I wish her and her wife-to-be nothing but happiness!

Please excuse me if I was presumptuous. I saw the LGBTQ tag on your banner and the invitation on your blog down by the rainbow flag to join the LGBT community on discord. I guess I was just trying to...connect. Anyway... we're all humans no matter what.Blessings.

Haha ah yes. Yes, I meant that since this post is on your profile - so yeah, I should have realised it's from my earlier posts/banners. It's a relatively new group/community. Yeah, I understand you were trying to connect - that's the context I might have missed! I apologise. I'm not sure if you have time to do so, but Discord is a great place where a lot of steemians connect with one another! You should get the app if you have enough time :)

Yes, I'm going to set that up today. Thanks. Look forward to it.

Oh, and I'm having some kind of weird glitch with steemit. These posts were actually by mistermercury but I am being thrown back to an older blog I'm trying to let go dormant (christopherhard) (a terrible name... when I set up that account I discovered, to late, I could not use my full name so it came out "hard". Oh, well. Trying to get that all figured out today. If you have any clues where I might begin to fix this let me know by responding here. Thanks. Is there a way, for instance, to connect with the tech wizards who run steemit?

Hmm I'm not sure who runs it. but https://steemit.chat/ definitely is a good source to ask for help. I would suggest logging out and logging in. Maybe last time you logged in, you logged to your older account with those details.

Thanks for your speedy response. I went to another server, hand typed in my password and all is going good now. I think. When I post this comment it should show up as @mistermercury. Crossing fingers. 123... go!

Yup! All is good :) will be looking forward to have you over at Discord :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32