SPU Poetry Contest #1: Jest An Angel

in #poetsunited6 years ago

What pearly-gate fate awaits the faintly Saintly?
Do jesters and jokers just play their harps, quaintly?
The Savior's sheep bleat just a little too sweetly
For comics and clowns to feel really completely
At ease in such reverent, ethereal bliss.
Is there a dark, smoky corner of Heaven for this?

This is my entry into this contest:
https://steemit.com/contest/@poetrybyjeremy/spu-poetry-contest-1-announcement

I used the second prompt, which is an excerpt from this poem:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@lymepoet/lost-poem

Sort:  

Nice poetry i like this sentence The Savior's sheep bleat just a little too sweetly. Steemit is a great platform and we all should support each other

This is awesome

For comics and clowns to feel really completely
At ease in such reverent, ethereal bliss.
Is there a dark, smoky corner of Heaven for this?

I love your poem....
Thanks for participating!!

Thanks for checking out my work!

This was short yet sweet, written in such fun spirit! I do love how you made the bleating sweet to ease the comics and clowns. This was quite creative and a very interesting take on the prompt. A great write :)

Thank you! It almost wanted to be a limerick, but it refused to arrange itself properly. You know how cantankerous a poem in your head can be...

Tell me about it ... remembers yesterday poem, in which I spent an hour just changing the last line.
I feel that you have to let the poem take the shape it has to, rather than trying to mould it in a form. Of course, limericks and other form poetry need to do that, and they create a sort of rhythm, but that is just not me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40