SPU Poetry Contest #1: If I Only

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

I am so thankful to @poetrybyjeremy for sponsoring this Poetry Contest. I chose an exerpt from Lost by @lymepoet as my inspiration for this poem. In fact the whole third stanza was taken directly from his poem.

He perfectly captured my feelings of grief, confusion and depression since the death of my husband about four months ago. I expounded on that feeling and writing this poem was very therapeutic for me. Sometimes just expressing how you feel helps. I hope that this might be helpful in some way to whoever reads it. And if you are in this place I pray that you will find a hand to hold.

0AA51C10-AD4D-49BA-9457-578F8EE6D0F5.jpeg

If I only had a cup to catch
these bitter fallen tears,
draining me of breath
and drowning
out my
soul!

If I only knew the steps to take
to climb out of this hole
trapped and all alone
with nothing
but my
fears.

‘If I only had a match to light
and see where I am now
wrong side of heaven
or righteous
depth of
hell?’

If I only had a hand to hold
to pull me from this place
touching solid ground
with sunshine
on my
face.

Sort:  

I'm sorry for you loss. I like how you adapted the structure of @lymepoet and put your pain into it. Thank you for entering the contest - it was a pleasure reading this poem.

well written @firststeps
I love the structure of your poetry. It fits in perfectly.
Am sorry for your loss, i understand your feelings totally.
After grief, comes a bright smile.

@firststeps,

I also submitted a poem to the Poetry Contest and came across this post while checking out the competition. It's beautifully poignant.

I'm sorry for your loss.

There's no way to Gild the Lilly. The pain is the pain. I published a poem, and accompanying article, a while back that, perhaps, may give you a measure of comfort.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/two-beats-poem-a-tribute-to-mothers-of-fallen-soldiers

Good luck on the contest and I'll see you around in the comment sections.

If I only had a match to light
and see where I am now
wrong side of heaven
or righteous
depth of
hell?’

That was deep, dear... loved it!

Yes, it was but unfortunately not my words. They were by @lymepoet. You should check her work. These are the words that inspired me.

Well done! Continue expressing your feelings through poetry. The last stanza got me weeping for real!😊

If only I had a match to light
That will chase the pain away
If only I had a match to light
Maybe I'll just be fine..

I love the emotions in this poem... So therapeutic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36