SPU Poetry Contest #3: PINOCCHIO

in #poetsunited6 years ago


images (8).jpeg
Credit

I was born with a silver spoon
Yet a curse straight to the moon
With no heart or mind to hold
Everything I do was told

With a skin made of wood
Dressed by a mask and a hood
A hat made of knowledge
Of right and wrong,
But behind bars
Is where I hung

Everything is written by the book
Blood shed and Mafia that's a nook
I am bound by blood and chained to the door
No one can see, forlorn

The taste of new things poison me
I lied once and it went bad
So I cut my nose and watch the blood
Run dry on the floor
I looked in the mirror
Alas! There is a stranger staring right at me
So I grab a knife and stabbed a dagger
Straight to his heart...
Freedom.


Hush! by @poetrybyjeremy is the inspiration for this poetry particularly this quote:

"All my childhood was an act
and I have no idea who I really was
and I have no idea who I really am."

See the contest here hosted by @poetsunit.

Thank you for reading!

March 13, 2018 - 6:00 PM

U5dqqP9CMYxybaJfvScnwPFRU96QYwd_1680x8400.png

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.

emdesan (1).png

Sort:  

Very nice poem my friend

This was quite profound. The inner child transferred onto the story of Pinocchio - we are told what to do. The curiosity is poison to living by the book. The last stanza was intriguing - stabbing the reflection/mirror or oneself - shattering the idea of who we are or who we should be and become free again by having no image or book to live up to.

Nice. I like your style. the way you compose a poem. and the style you used to compare pinocchio with that child

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49