"SPU Poetry Contest #1: Imitation

in #poetsunited7 years ago (edited)

9000cbc904b31e4a810705ea93f7877d4fb2e8dc_hq.jpg
(image source:google)

As the sun starts to shine, so as deception.
Fixing myself for a convincing imitation.
Laugh when someone's around.
Don't let them see that you are feeling down.

Don't let them know the pain behind those smiles.
Just laugh to save up from cries,
to cover up those painful lies.
Just laugh and smile to avoid questions,
To avoid their bias decision.

They don't know what you feel,
and they will never know.
So you keep yourself at imitating what they just only knew.
At the end of the day you're tired of faking,
Yet you must keep yourself up for another morning.

This poem is my entry to the SPU POETRY CONTEST #1 by @poetrybyjeremy and I chose the 1st poem in the contest which is the second poem in Photography and Poetry, by @warpedpoetic.

Sort:  

I like the direction you went with the notion of deception. I can see that there is a lot of pain that many of us hide under fake smiles. Sometimes, it's almost as if it's an unspoken rule. If I may suggest anything - I would describe the pain a bit. Make it vivid and real - so that the pain can be felt by the reader, and it can be seen.

I think you would find this article helpful: Resolving Emotional Abstractions. It helps the good poetry become better ;)

thanks for the advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36