SPU Poetry contest #1"Picture a new day"

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

silhouettes28391101920.jpg

Picture perfect dreams
Where everything is as it seems,
boredom never creeps on your day
And stardom is always a click away,
But thats all they are.... Dreams
Once again i wake up
And my hopes turn to dust

The perfect angle for the perfect shot,
Hours standing
In search of a perfect spot,
another day well spent
Plotting my character assassination,
I smile when distraught
In focus when im out of it,
Ready set pose
And a whirlwind of clashing emotions
Just vanishes, all in a flash

Again the sun sets,
Back home on my desk
Where I put my cover to rest,
I barely pick up my pen
That I'm overwhelmed
By all those discarded emotions,
Ridiculed and consumed by them
Until I close my eyes again

Im done! I need a brake
Cant take anymore heartaches,
I pray tomorrow it ends
I pray it all changes,

Tomorrow I meet my friend
He's really excited but then again
He always is,
says he's found a way
One can showcase their talent
Without ever having to pretend,
Where every connection made
Is deemed a reward
And everyday is payday,
A place for the awkward
The socialite and in between
Where flaws are celebrated
More than anything

I wonder what it means...
Tomorrow I find out,
I have a feeling I'm in

Inspired by @warpedpoetic's Photograpy and poetry:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@warpedpoetic/photography-and-poetry

image source: pixabay.com

Sort:  

So so nice. I love to write like this someday.

Thank you, that really means a lot :), Im just trust trying to get better everyday. Hope you're having a good day :)

I really love the rhythm of the first two stanzas and their imagery the most - it's astounding! a good job :)

Thanks man, I really appreciate :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ange.nkuru from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50