19 of 100

in #poetryrocks7 years ago (edited)

From (1 of 100):

I'm going to try to challenge myself, and this is the very first one. I am going to try to write 100 Poems in 30 days (essentially, I'm trying to pay for a Birthday Gift for my wife and this is how I want to pay for it). Anyway 100 Poems in 30 Days... should be something to see. I just hope I can come through with good poetry that people enjoy.

Here you can see 18 of 100.

Now to the 19th in this series... let's make some money so I can buy her an even better gift!!



Source


Children Need

I don't want to think of all the homeless youth
as we soothe our minds with the the falsest truth,
a nightmare spun fair out of control
as we know the grass is greener wherever you go...
Hold the hands
and trust the sands
as the time turns backwards on the oldest plans,
the words spin reverse against the flow
as we change the direction and stand toe-to-toe
with bureaucracy documents the way to go
when we meet the child who we want to bring to our home...
failing words and truth does hurt,
but the trust we have in each other is by far worse
if the things we say to keep ahead of the curve
makes our minds stand still
when it strikes a nerve.
Do you want my thoughts?
Can you handle it, dear?
Failure's not an option when all becomes crystal clear.
God's plans cannot be the last to tell,
but in doing so I've traveled to the depths of Hell
as well as anyone else who's taken time to try
as the government treats like we're committing a crime.
I just want to put a child into safer atmospheres,
with a roof overhead
and no more nightmares...
See the sea within the crying eyes,
they are crying for me to take them in for awhile;
but truth be told, I would want so much more
from this world-of-pain that they oft-times know.
These innocent players are not part of the game
that the world has created
to hide all of its own shame...
I call them lame in my own small way
while good parents have nothing to do but pray
and watch as undeserving people get to steal
the children just to use them in a sinful deal;
and the Devil's own hand shows itself surprise
as the cries of the little ones' tear-filled eyes
plead and beg for the mercy that is not their own
but a child needs the love that a parent can show.

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Loading...

This post has received a 7.89 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @dbzfan4awhile. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dbzfan4awhile from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55