A Towering Force - Entry 1 into Poetry Dice 3000

in #poetrydice7 years ago

source


A Towering Force


A question left answered, who am I without this unease?

It is a shadow looming behind me, plaguing me like a disease. 

The direction of my steps is hindered by my inhibition,

My mind wanders with angst filled thoughts against my volition. 

But, from the hope blooming within me comes a towering force,

A light that guides my path, a moonlit sky that reveals my course. 

And from this strength an arrow is shot, piercing the trepidation,

Redeeming me, reviving me and filling me with elation.


- written by @uglysweater

Sort:  

Did you write this? It's a great poem!

Yes, I did! Thank you!

I like 😍 Thats so pretty.
Upvoted!

Thanks, dearie! <3

Lovely words my dearest! @uglysweater is where to go for inspiration. ⛅️🌱 🌈🌼

Thank you, darlin'! :D

Hey sis. This is a nice post. Appreciate it. Upvoted and resteemed! 😊

Thank you! :)

its just so nice to see people posting their very own original high quality contents. Keep it up 😃

Thanks, I will! 😊

This post has received a 2.79 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @uglysweater.

Yeah, screw the dark!

Light the way @uglysweater!! HAHAHA - Seems to be working out for you to use rando and booster to put yourself ahead of the race...seems a bit arrogant though - do you think it will be beneficial in the long-term? Have you used the "promote" button on your posts? Lmk.


Thanks for contributing to the One Human Basket community! You have received 100% percent upvote and resteem! :-) Cheers!

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out about it here where there is also a poetry dice challenge!

Arrogant? Using every tool made available to you to make your posts a bit more visible isn't arrogant.
Bots like Randowhale and Booster are nothing more than investment tools. You send them 2sbd in hopes to turn a profit of 1-10sbd, and as far as I'm aware, that is how investment works. If this type of investment makes someone arrogant, so does any investment in any type of cryptocurrency...or any investment, for that matter.

Promoting your post, imo, is the exact same as using randowhale or booster, minus the investing part...when you promote your post, you are simply burning your sbd in hopes that maybe a larger fish will see your post. That's not investment, that's dumb.

First people bitched about guilds, then trails, now bots and self voting...next month everyone will be on a different subject, trust me. ;)

My advice:

You do you, and I'll do me.
My SBD/STEEM/SP was earned by me, and I will use it as I please, and so should everyone else.

Edit: that may have come off a bit harsh, if so, I didn't mean for it too...I just get a bit passionate at times. Hahaha

I agree, it is up to personal preference. Personally, if I see some one is randowhaled by someone else it seems nice, when they randowhaled themselves, it seems masturbatory.

When I joined whalepower I donated 5 steem, because I like the work they are trying to do. As I get more Steempower, I plan to put more towards their efforts.

I don't think @robyneggs meant to shame her as much as remind her she is in a competition that is judged based on votes/earnings, as merit is almost impossible to judge in poetry, being a matter of taste.

Next month
I plan on bitching
about people who
abuse centering,
you in?

My Advice!


Do what feels nice, if you aren't getting that 🐋 in your waters maybe grab some 🤖🍆. I'm for ❤️. I'm pretty sure we're on the same page @rigaronib, I like your style.

What has me a bit perturbed, though, is that this seems to be because you both think that she upvoted herself with randowhale and booster to get ahead in the contest, as you said:

as much as remind her she is in a competition that is judged based on votes/earnings

Now nowhere in the contest post does it say that a winner will be chosen by whomever has the highest payouts. It does, however, state:

Want to co-judge or guest judge? Please message me in steemit.chat/direct/robyn.eggs

Which implies that it is simply judged by a person based on the poem that they like the most...Because, why would you need a guest judge or co-judge if it was simply whomever gets the highest payout wins?? It would be incredibly stupid to judge based on payout, so the typical person wouldn't see a problem with using a steemtool to increase their payout.

Furthermore, if it is not judged by payout amount...Why is this even a problem?

By the way I'm not trying to be an asshole lol, I'm just trying to clear the air here, as both yours and robyneggs comments were rather confusing to someone that has been here a while. I feel like I would be safe to assume that they would also sound very confusing and somewhat condescending to a newer user.

Your quite right @rigaronib. That was a poetry trail contest I recently entered that had that rule, I reread @robyneggs contest rules, I was mistaken, my bad. Not sure what she's on about then, I'll leave it to her to defend. Have a lovely night all. Great poem once again, and thanks @rigaronib for your sage advice.

Haha Thanks for being awesome, bud. It's always nice to have a conversation with a resolution. Have a fantastic night. :)

I understand where you are coming from, @bleedpoet.
To be honest, this is the second poetry contest I have entered and I didn't know that the post earnings contributed towards the judging! Sorry, @robyneggs, I did not mean to appear to be seeking an unfair advantage.

Oh, no! I would hate to seem arrogant! I wasn't trying to put myself ahead of anything. I was using my earned SBD for a couple votes; it helps a little! I don't know what the long-term benefits will wind up being, but we will see. If you don't mind me asking, what is arrogant about it?
No, I haven't used the "promote" button. What does it do exactly?
Thank you for commenting!

It is a lovely poem. I have to agree with @robyneggs about using the bots and such for personal up voting. ❤️ is something if you give it away😉. Let your work stand on its own merit, consider the whalepower tag if your looking for a curation up vote.

I just think it's more fun when other people use randowhale to vote for people

So when it's called a donation by whalepower, it's ok, but when you have to send a 2sbd investment (with a guarantee that you will get a 2-10sbd return/upvote, mind you.), that's not?
People need to realize that bots like randowhale and booster are nothing more than steemtools. Don't shame people for using the available tools to get ahead.

And btw, from my understanding, whalepower is one single person that isn't even a whale...how can one person curate hundreds of posts a day and keep enough voting power to make each vote worth it? It doesn't work. A 100% upvote from the whalepower tag is tops $5.....but you will not be getting that because he must conserve his voting power. Don't get me wrong, the initiative is a great idea, but it needs more people...but with more people added to vote, whalepower would become a guild! GASP Guess what happens when a guild is formed: People find something else to bitch and complain about.

My advice? Don't be afraid to use the tools made available to you to get ahead.

wow you guys...I still think its arrogant.

It's arrogant because it makes you look vain and self-important; egotistical.

Even a little light beats the darkness. This is well done. Thanks for sharing it. Drive forward, friend!

Thank you so much!

Really great one. Love ur poem :0)
Well written.

Thank you! :)

Ur welcome :-0)

This is really a wonderful poem. You have an excellent command of your vocabulary. Kudos!

Thank you! 😄

I like your captivating smile, doing great indeed. Happy weekend.

Thank you! 😊

welcome, keep smiling and more success. Hope we stay in touch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67