Tale of a Siren- My level 2 entry to The Poetry Dice Challenge: Week 30 by rensoul17

in #poetrydice6 years ago (edited)

And suddenly she vanished like the footprints she had left trailing toward, then away, from me; now swallowed by high tide. Her smile ever to coy was never to ignite passion but it did elicit tenderness for all its trying. I quick to retreat behinds the walls of my castle, especially in dicy emotional situations, refused the candy apple offered and undoubtedly hurt her feelings.

Oh don’t get me wrong, she was beautiful and supple and many boys and girls found her to be the magnetic blossom they could not resist. But see, her very nature that spawned such devotion was the arrow flashing me caution to keep my wits sharpened and my heart under lock and key. Where there is honey there are bees and one is most likely to sting you. I personally am not a consumer of insect vomit nor would the sting be complementary to my health as I am deathly allergic.

Standing on the beach I rejected her on I ponder if I should have at least sampled her offering. I did not mean to cause any pain, just endeavoured to avoid any to myself. Her flock of deconstructed devotees now glare at me at every encounter, their stares like invisible speech bubbles displaying their outrage. I, apparent swine, did not acknowledge the pearl they sold dignity to possess.

And yet a part of me misses her and the two seconds I always teether on the edge of letting her win. The waves splash cool around my ankles and the faint aroma of seaweed reminds me that I still have to feed the cats. When she found the journal on the train I wonder how she pictured me and what kept her from heeding the warning peeking from every line.

(Image credit Dave Renike and a portrait of the fair jubilee made by myself turned into this here universal truth meme) 1146410_626398614061443_1547687283_o.jpg

moi.jpg



nan small.jpg

Image Credit
ss.jpg

Image Credit
lgbt.jpg

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

image.png

Image Credit
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

music.jpg


Sort:  

Your writing style I would imagine it to be like a modern day Shakespeare how you tell the story, the sentence structure, the pace of the story how parts of if speeds like a locomotive and other parts slow down falling softly and silently like snowflakes and then you bring the story to a conclusion that leaves us expressing either a sigh or gasping for more and I feel that you are a savant genius that wrote a story that was simultaneously in step and in perfect orchestration with the other things you do in day. Thank You for your entry. @tygertyger

YOu always say the sweetest things :)

Oh WOW ! ^_^
I'm not sure to understand it all as english is not my mother tongue, but I grab it enough to feel how special it is and the level is very high here.. ;-)

@tygertyger i loved this do much!!!! I felt it viscerslly just like @rensoul17 said. Today you have taught me prose. Also .. are you in every group??! Lol your banner list is longer than a cvs reciept!

not every LOl but then I am a multidimensional being ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83