Poetry Dice Entry: My Grandpa

in #poetrydice6 years ago



Grandpa was a funny man

He was more like a trickster 

With his frequent drama, 

some days were fun

while other days were disastrous 


He was a brilliant man

never used a calculator 

but was always right.

Like a six-sided dice 

he was unpredictable 


From a family of sheepherders,

he made his life stand out. 

One day I asked him a question; 

How did you do it

How did you make it


He answered and said,

When it rains,  it's dark and gloomy

You fetch your water 

you work but remain hopeful 

For the sight of a beautiful rainbow.


An apple a day I always thought

but grandpa never ate one

He never used a cane

and at a century old

he entered his eternal sleep. 



This is a weekly challenge/ contest by @robyneggs

The idea is to create a poem using the 9 images on the dice and all 9 images on the dice must be referenced at least once, each, in the poem.

I did the best I could. It was really a challenge. 

The poem is however based on my grandpa who lived up to just above a Century old. Tough guy who never got sick,  according to my mom. Most of us (grandkids) were just kids when passed on a couple of decades ago.

A steemit original by Stanley 


Sort:  

This is a very touching piece of art with words. I enjoyed this read for it reminded me of my own grandfathers. Your words were beautiful. Thank you for sharing! Your grandfather is lucky to have you as a grandson. Good luck on the poetrydice challenge!

Happy Steeming
@stanleyc-md

Thank you for all your support!

Thats what steemit is all about right! Suporting that in which we enjoy. And I enjoyed this very much so.

Happy steeming
@stanleyc-md

Amen to that sister! <3 and great work @stanleyc-md I really enjoyed this piece :) <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

I really love this one so much! Thanks for sharing this part of your Grandpa with us. Great entry to the pdc3k for transformation. It's funny how it changes our perspective as we grow, the words of wisdom grandparents bestow us...

Thanks for the opportunity to share

I love a piece of art that speaks more than its original meaning

This is lovely. Grandparents are special ❤️

I agree with @kellywin21 - this was a touching account of your granfathers life. You mention that it was a real challenge for you and so considering that too I think you have done excellently well... keep up the great work! I'm sure it'll get easier the more you flow with it so, I hope to see more from you :)

If you fancy checking my entry out the link is below!

--> Everything Transforms

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00