Manacles of my Guilt.

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the poetrydice contest.
All thanks to @robyneggs

These are the prompts in no specified order
Minnow, footprint, search, light, power, fountain, identity, counting and arrows

5642909-mosquito.jpg
Source

like an unsuspecting minnow would swim into the open jaws of a shark,
I followed suit- your footprints, now my guilt.

Glancing at the overcast August sky,
I try to forget.
But how can I outwit the manacles of my guilt- I am a murderer.

I searched for answers to questions unanswered.
And you showed me the light from your fountain of experience- how you decimated them with an insecticide.
They lost power over you, as they counted their losses.
Now, they have become a colony without identity, their territory lost.

But last night, like an army, they besieged me.
Armed to the teeth with proboscis sharpened like arrows and spears.
No choice was mine but to finish what you started.
I groped my hands in the dark, for the insecticide.
And stealthily, like an unfaithful lover would leave before the morning, sprayed the liquid in the air.

Their withered wings came falling on the floor,
Tanned like charred corn.
And their blood-filled bellies became all lifeless.

How can I forget the manacles of my guilt?
How can I outwit the guilt of killing a whole calvary of mosquitoes?

Thank you for reading.
Your review and opinions are always appreciated.

Do not forget to touch the up Vote button.
And follow @harrywill .
This post is resteemable.

Sort:  

I hope it's not a late entry @robyneggs

Naw, you're good!

So harsh, "you murderer!"
;-D j/k

Good luck!!

Lol. Thank you.

We wish you good luck bro. Your link was sent to us by @dante31

Thank you @nigeriagist. And I really love your kind gestures @dante31

Happy Sunday. One Love!

Thank you bro. Your good wishes earned me a third place. I hope to do better.

Congratulations @harrywill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You are not too late -- I am just getting round to choosing my final three and Robin and I will convene in the am. I am glad you made it in as this is a delightful entry indeed. :)

Thank you so much. I really appreciate.

Wonderful poem! Thanks for sharing.

Cheers Babe! Thanks for taking a leap and joining in this week's contest! :-)

Thank you for the opportunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51