PDCK 13 Poetry Dice Comp : A Tale of Two Fishes

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

A Tale of Two Fishes

I have had a nightmare with technology these past couple of weeks. Here's hoping this will finally load!
Poetry Dice Images this week:
direction, moon, apple, sheep, house, wigwam, fish, eye, star. I missed off the MJ this week for a different feel :) Thanks guys once again for an ace comp!

There once was a fish
Who yearned for the moon,
Each day he would choose
A direction
He hoped
Might take him home,
But though he swam
And he wandered
Through reefs
And dark waters,
Through shallows
And rapids
And star strewn
Seas of bright plankton,
Never could he find his way
To that lantern.

There once was a fish
Who craved only shelter,
The ocean that cradled her soul
Being as it was
Too large for
Such a small fish
With so fragile a nature,
But though she rode
On bellies of mammals
Larger than mountains
And eyed up the
Shells and the buckets
And the discarded
Condoms,
Never could she find a harbour
For her longings.

There once were two fish
Who wished to belong,
Who never felt right
And always felt wrong,
They wished and they wished
Their dreams
To fruition,
But each day and each night
Their wishes they fell
Like proverbial drops:
Lost and dispersed
In an ocean’s oblivion.

There once were two fish
Who once came together,
And for one perfect moment,
One was the moon
And the other a shelter,
But the sea it were heartless
And the sea it was fierce,
And in its tumultuous chaos
It drowned two little fish
In a sea of fish
Sea of fish
Sea of fish
Tears.

Pic: my pyjamas

My blog is story telling, often in verse, and some of which includes tales of both living with, and crushing, seronegative arthritis. All work is original.

Follow me: (https://steemit.com/@girlwithoutwings)

Sort:  

I feel you. I heard Steemit was under attack. Then i heard the whole internet was down. Then me amd my sister imagined what it would be like without internet. I thought I would probably get into cable tv...or read a book....hahaha. so i feel ya. You are rocking it once again. Happy to hear it! :-) Cheers! Wishing you all the best!! Thanks for particpating, even with some troubles! I commend you on your fortitude!

Steemit was defo down yesterday for a while. Then I could get in but nothing would load and my laptops still broken. I DO have a new printer tho - so small steps! And steemit appears to be ok again. But yes, imagine reading an actual book!!!! hahahahaha

Welcome back @girlwithoutwings. I hope your issues with technology are a thing of the past.

I liked the dramatic nature of the ending. It made me recognize and feel the tragedy a little bit more. Good write.

Life. It doesn't care. haha :) thanks for the comment xxxx

oK @girlwithoutwings, this master-piece got better, and better and better as I continued to read it and soon I wished I was a fish going home. The wording in this one is magnificent. As I read this time stood still. Thank You

Awww im in love with you. You are so lovely xxxxx thank you what sweet sweet comments. Here, have more kisses xxxx

Beautiful poem. I love the story that you woven into it.

Thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69