SteemitPoetryContest #6 - My Sister's Hero

in #poetrycontest7 years ago

There are many definitions
of what a hero could be
And from my sister's description
that hero could be me

You see my sister needed a kidney
back in nineteen ninety-five
And if it wasn't for me donating
she wouldn't be alive

I really don't feel like a hero
it's just something I had to do
But I do get a warm sensation
when she tells me, "I love you"

--

Poetry Contest.jpg

Sort:  

I like to play around with my rhyme structure. Looks like you go for the xaxa type, usually I'm more aabb iambic pentameter, but when I collab it's usually a good bit of compromise with that. I can't do the free style no rhyme structure either. It just doesn't make any sense to me usually. I'll have to check out more of yours!

Yes! Rhyming is essential - and using a structure makes it somehow easier for me to write.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnwjr7 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Moving story. Sometimes, just doing "what you have to do" takes heroism.

Upvoted!

I like it! You really tell a story here. Beautiful what you have done for your sister. Maybe I will do a poem that rhymes soon too :)

This is a very touching poem! Well done.

Happy reading your stuff. Maybe the ability to rhyme will come to me one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51