Steemit Poetry Contest #11 | Laughter

in #poetrycontest7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Poetry Contest #11 | Laughter


See my last post for the story behind the poem this one is based on (both original). This poem takes the story a little further though. So, remember that episode where Bart sells his soul to Millhouse?

giphy (2).gif

As a youngin' with a strong imagination, I was able to create for myself a friend of sorts very much like Bart's soul in his dreams. To be clear and totally not defensive, I had friends, both real and stuffed.

But the only-child life perhaps left me pining for the company of none other than myself. When I grew older, I slapped a name on him and subsumed under it my ego, my true identity, my conscience, intuition and more. A name separate from me, from mine. But still a part of me and my own.


Laughter

laughter is the sweetest sound
banter to each ear,
do you hear it? Do you hear—?
Oh wait, there's no one here!

my mind says that I'm merry
and that I am filled with cheer
but I won't be laughing
'cause there's no one here to hear

Oh no, no need to worry
Alone, but I’m not lonely
I’ve honed my own companion who
I don’t think will outgrow me


giphy.gif

Shoutout to @terrycraft for hosting the Steemit Poetry Contest #11

gifs: here and here

Sort:  

Me too ... Maggie's my favourite tho :)

I like it! Great poem. It’s like the antithesis of mine

My thoughts exactly! Thanks for checking it out :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51