Steemit Poetry Contest #11- "Loneliness"

in #poetrycontest7 years ago (edited)


Source

Loneliness is me
When all I see
Are the burnt-out embers
Of our once passionate desires.

Loneliness is me
Whose pain throbs with every heartbeat
As the emptiness sucks me in
And your absence becomes real.

Longingly I search
For our whirlwind romance of yesterday
Today I live in my memories
For loneliness has surely become me.



Commentary


This poem is about the intense loneliness that a lover feels after her partner has walked out of her life. The poet-persona reminisces about the days when their romantic bond was so strong and sadly recalls how unexpectedly, they parted ways. She finds it so difficult to get on with her life. She becomes such a shadow of herself that she constantly tunes off from the world around her to relive the passionate times she shared with her once-upon-a-time lover. This is a true picture of an all-consuming love. The emptiness she feels has her saying repeatedly that loneliness has become her.

Sort:  

hello you have good poem. I follow you , how about follow me?

this my poem. Im korean

https://steemit.com/kr/@woongsfather/5vjdzh

I have followed you right back. Thanks.

I wish I was a good writer as you. Keep it up! :)

Thanks for the compliment. Appreciate.

Nice Poet as ever. You are always good in poet.

I enjoyed reading your poem. I found you on the Poetry Contest #11 page.

@abuja-steem just upvoted and resteemed this post. Help us to do more by upvoting this comment

Good poem, keep it up