Ship's Eyes - Original Poetry - Day 2 of 7

I was nominated for this poetry challenge by @mariannewest. Please visit her poem Mother Earth!

This is day 2 of this challenge for me.

When accepting a poetry challenge for 7 days, you never know what direction your heart may take. I sought inspiration from poetry prompts that I follow on Twitter, this poem is inspired by the prompt provided by @Writtenriver on Twitter: ship's eyes and I've titled titled this poem as such. I appreciate your feedback!

Ship's Eyes

If my world shall tip and spiral
And all her buildings come crashing down
I'll flee to the rock of substance,
burrow safely into hallowed ground,
I'll nest 'til storms quiet above me,
Until the cacophony and tempest settles down;
Until the lightning and thunder cracking abates
In my heart-my sacred little town.
If fragile ships rock on torpid seas,
And the sun should shade her rays from me
I'll feed on peace and silence
and hosts of stolen memories.
If titans rage with dissidents
I'm hidden from the fray.
I'll raise my chin in impudence,
And store each word I'll say.
There is a time to speak, my friend,
and time for tongues to stand at bay.
I'll pick each word with patient care,
Such weaving is not chance,
Every vowel,
each harbored thought,
as synchronized as dance.
And every ear that listens,
Every heart that beats
attests to notes of elegance
or armies full retreat.

Write down one poem every day for 7 days
use the tag: #poetrychallange
nominate one user every day.

Today, I nominate @margaretwise

LZuL9sHEqqpX.jpg
Art colored by me in Recolor App
Google Play

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hochitrooper

Sort:  

Whoa babe, that's a cracker!
Some chilling lines in that Janelle, it reads like a WWI poem.
Great work ❤️

Thank you, @tremendospercy. I will have to go read some WW1 poems now! <3 hugs

Beautiful words to share..the lines are great and carefully chosen..thanks bro @wandrnrose

Thank you for reading, I hope it conveyed a message. <3

Beautiful as always! resteeming for sure.

Thank you so much for reading and sharing! hugs

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wandrnrose7 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Another beautiful poem my friend. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63875.92
ETH 2747.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65