MY LIFE IS A MIRAGE!

in #poetry6 years ago

This smile is seldom a facade
Yet, it is not often true
I wear it like a mask
Act like a clown
I laugh till my ribs hurt
Some days are happy...
Some days are not
Yet even on the happy days,
I give in to this laughter
In a bid to soothe the aching in my soul

actress-2868705__480.jpg
Pixabay

At morn we put on my finest attires
Shoulders squared
Spine straight
Head up high
And a glow that lights up my face
At dusk, I rid myself of these clothing
And become the me I allow no one to see

You wonder how I do it
Seemingly unfazed by your sorrows
As you pour your heart out to me
"You won't understand," you say
How could I, anyway?
When my life is all 'green and rosy'
Only if you knew...
How much I do understand
You cry of shoes getting soaked in the rain
But my sleep doesn't even save me from my demons-
They reinforce them
They come as sorrows when I'm awake
And nightmares when I close my eyes

woman-2609115__480.jpg
Pixabay

Every morn, I tell myself
Today is not the day I lose
Not when I've fought so hard, come this far
So when you come with tales of your short fingers
I smile and hide my gloved ones
For you musn't see that they are shorter

I keep my tales, tell you I'm ok
Nothing you need to know about,
I often tell myself
Some demons are meant to be borne alone
Some tears, shed on no shoulders

Strength is all I know, Though times come when it fails me
But never fear, for when it fails
I won't slit my wrists or jump the bridge
I'll sink, the pit in me, deep enough to drown in

girl-3394947__480.jpg
Pixabay

Misery loves company, you know
The only company mine ever needs, is me
So we will communion until I find the strength
To smile again
Be your hope, again
Everyone has their demons, dear friend
Everyone wears their masks

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Fantastic writing as usual love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84