A Tale of an Odd Couple (Day 17)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Look, just as time isn't inside clocks
love isn't inside bodies:
bodies only tell the love.

—Yehuda Amichai
DQmX65jSDkw1gcpZDUM2CLf52cr7phUZMfAe6Dv57Yg1mq8_1680x8400.png

Odd Couple

He does not know of her past, only that she has one
having passed through other hands on her way to him
but she endears herself, daily, through great endurance
faithful as a homely girl, anxious of being replaced.

Without complaint, in rain and across uneven terrain
covering distances, undergoing countless revolutions
she reminds him of simple pleasures, commiserating
silently when he is spent, taking him out for some air.

And he’ll return the favor when she’s low and dragging
alternately, leaning on one other, they take their turns
shouldering the burden whenever the need arises
or leading the way, wherever one cannot go alone.

They match each other’s rhythms as old couples do
(those quietly content mating socks on weekends)
yet each night, they part and go their separate ways
he to sleep with his kin, she to retire with her own.

And, every morning he finds her patiently waiting
uncomplicated and undemanding, ready to give
arms wide open, as though in perpetual embrace
stacked against the other bicycles in the garage.

© Yahia Lababidi



(Images: Pixabay 1, 2)

sharp.png

This is my entry for Day 17 of @d-pend's The 100 Day Poetry Challenge. If you're looking to develop your skills (as a writer or Steemian) and discover a sense of community, please, consider joining Steemit School on Discord
sharp.png
Another poem of mine about another odd couple: My Pigeon & I

Sort:  

This is the second time a poem made me cry today. I will never see bicycles the same ....

Aye.. thanks, for getting it (from comments I received, so far, I was beginning to wonder if it was too obscure). Btw, just reading your entry and lingering over 'noose of expectations' and the 'odd unconventional bird' we find (in my case, literally). Stay strong, tyger, and soft <3

🦋💕🦋

So much easier to be in love with someone or something that doesn't talk. LOL. Clever write, Yahia:)

Haha, yes, bicycles, books, plants and pets all come to mind :) Glad you enjoyed it, @prydefoltz, thanks, for stopping by.

Awesome poem

Hello @yahialababidi It is a love without complications, I think it is more pleasure than something, an object. Greetings. I invite you to read my poem about the "Agony of an existence".

Realmente este es un texto hermoso, @yahialababidi. Lleno de una ternura inusual. Yo me imagino este poema como un cuento infantil y con unas ilustraciones hermosísimas. El mensaje de amistad es genuino y seguramente con las palabras emotivas que arrastran al recuerdo de una infancia y una juventud ya perdidas. Te aplaudo y te felicito. Realmente piensa en volverlo cuento y con ilustraciones. Seguramente te quedará genial.

I'm sorry I don't read Spanish :o

Good Evening Yahia, Your today's poem gave me a solution to solve my friend and his issue ;)

These are wonderful lines <3

They match each other’s rhythms as old couples do
(those quietly content mating socks on weekends)
yet each night, they part and go their separate ways
he to sleep with his kin, she to retire with her own.

Hello, Salman -- I admit I'm confused and curious by your comment. What did you understand my poem to mean, and how did it help you with your friend?

Actually both are fighting due to minor clashes among them and i found that they are doing so due to communication gap among them. Secondly they are not spending time with each other to know each others habits in a very close way. This line gave me idea to understand their situation

They match each other’s rhythms as old couples do

I'm sorry to hear it... Yes, communication is very important, and listening, and sacrifice. But, my poem, Salman, was a kind of trick--since in the end, the reader discovers that I'm speaking about a man's love for his bicycle (not a woman).

Yes you clearly mentioned in the last line of the last stanza that poet was talking abt her bicycle lol

And, every morning he finds her patiently waiting
uncomplicated and undemanding, ready to give
arms wide open, as though in perpetual embrace
stacked against the other bicycles in the garage.

nice lines and it give the genuine message of friendship and absolutely with the emotional phrases that drag the memory of an early life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66120.88
ETH 3555.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12