Here is my poem of the day

in #poetry6 years ago

Hello everyone in the Steemit world,

Here is my poem of the day for y’all to enjoy. I wrote this in Feb. 2008 for a college class. Here is the poem typed out for ya to read and if y’all want to hear me read the poem out loud, please check out the video link below the poem.

Home: A Sign of Change

Under an aqua sky is
a sea of never ending sage that
seems to go on as far as the eye can see.
This is my home, but I wonder what home would be
like if it were rolling hills of green?

As I sit here thinking,
I realize God made my
home a beautiful place, all its own.

I look out across a field to see
a herd of sienna cows
munching pale yellow hay,
And I wonder what they are thinking
as they stand there all day.

As I scan the land,
I see a site that seems familiar, but yet not so familiar
An animal with a coat as black as
night without a moon.
An animal that seems to have traveled
a great distance
A lone wolf! Could that be?

But…
What could it mean?
Could it be the next trophy for someone? or
The sign that things are about to change?

To me, I hope it is the latter

Under an aqua sky is
a sea of never ending sage that
seems to go on as far as the eye can see.
This is my home, but I wonder what home would be
like if it were rolling hills of green?

As I sit here thinking,
I realize God made my
home a beautiful place, all its own.

I look out across a field to see
a herd of sienna cows
munching pale yellow hay,
And I wonder what they are thinking
as they stand there all day.

As I scan the land,
I see a site that seems familiar, but yet not so familiar
An animal with a coat as black as
night without a moon.
An animal that seems to have traveled
a great distance
A lone wolf! Could that be?

But…
What could it mean?
Could it be the next trophy for someone? or
The sign that things are about to change?

To me, I hope it is the latter.

Thressa Dunn
April 21, 2008

I will be trying to post something new each day, but we will see if my muse wants to play along

Sort:  

This poem was so profoundly well told, I am in awe and I absolutely loved it! You are by the way mentioned in the last edition of The Hunt (#6) by @poetsunited - well done!!! We'd love to have you aboard, so please do not hesitate to contact us (or read the Hunt: https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@vuds/steemit-poets-united-the-hunt-curation-6

Continue writing!

Thank you and I am just blown away by all the positive responses I have received on this platform so far! I am very humbled by everything that everyone has said and I am grateful I can share my stuff with folks. Thank you for your kind words and I will look into the link you sent. Thanks again and I very grateful from the bottom of my humbled heart.

You are very welcome, I am also blown away by all the beautiful poetry on this site - it is very special, filled with hope and excitement and I absolutely love that! Great poets are at this place and I intend to find them.

Yes please have a look at the link and also at our group @poetsunited, you are very welcome to join!

Thank you again and I will try to look into @poetsunited.

You really own this poem. It has a very authentic and natural aesthetic. A very clear and distinct voice. The imagery is clean and immediate. You can almost smell the air.

Thank you and I appreciate your kind words. It was fun to write this poem when I did it for a college writing class. I come from a small ranching community in Wyoming and this is what I grew up with, I just wish the last image didnt bring so much hatred toward those beautiful creatures. For me, we all need to love and respect what Mother Earth has given us and not ruin it for our own selfish needs.

Thank you again for reading this poem and please checkout my other works as well.

Beautiful work, T.
It flows so well and all the images are clear. I love the mystery of the Wild vs the domestic in this piece -- That wolf on the edge is great.
This is the discord channel, they are fantastic. Just make sure you read the server rulers, which gives you the guidelines for how to navigate and it all starts with you introducing yourself.
https://discord.gg/zj8cpzA

Thank you. I will check it out and see what that platform is like.

Hi Thressa @wolfmaiden

This is really beautiful. The energy behind your words, the stringing together of this piece, jumps out from between the lines.

I was just reading through the first two paragraphs when something hit me right in my chest and throat. I am glad that you are here, courageously sharing your voice, your gift, your beauty with the world.

Looking forward to your posts and watching you grow and spread your wings in this platform. May you always be supported and guided in your journey of self-expression here.

Cheers.

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. This is definitely a new journey for me and one I will try to do my best on. It may take me a while to post something because my muse loves to take a hiatus sometimes and it can be frustrating to no end, but when she does decide to play, I have so many things rolling around in my head that I have a hard time keeping up. Thanks again and I hope I can do well with this platform.

I have a feeling you will have a wonderful journey here.

I'm actually not much of a post promoter, when I saw your introductory post I really wanted to share my experience too. I have recently just posted two things that are close to my heart - very much related to what you just mentioned. Sharing it here - cuz, I think you might resonate with it, and you really are not alone. xx

https://steemit.com/blog/@kchitrah/namaste-backbends-and-twisted-crane-poses-to-relieve-writer-s-blocks

https://steemit.com/blog/@kchitrah/learning-the-imposter-syndrome-from-a-chemistry-class

I've also glanced through some other helpful articles around here to help with the muse, and finding courage to write. Just don't have them all saved though :(

Cheers

Thank you for your kind help. Anything at this point to help me make better postings is greatly appreciated.

You're welcome.

If there's one thing in abundance here apart from the steemit coins, it is the support here. Cheers!

Awesome content!
You got a Resteem and a 16.67% upvote from @cleansingpoetry courtesy of @angelveselinov!

Send 0.05 SBD / Steem to place your bid and get an Upvote and Resteem.

This service is provided by Steemit @poetsunited Community.

Delegate to this Bot to get a share from the daily profits.
To delegate use 50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47