The Alpha's Diary - - A cold night's drift.

in #poetry6 years ago


woman-2676571_1280.png
Cover Image Source
RAYA AZUL.png

I lay on the cold floor and watch the life go out of my phone as the battery slowly drains to zero.
I wrap my arms around the emptiness laying next to me as the cold air and cold floor does the same to me....
Slowly I drift into another world, a world where I could be who I want to be....
For in the world I reside, that dream is only but a wish!
A wish I long desperately for, but I have come to accept its non existence

My eyes close slowly
Would it be a temporary drift or would it be permanent

I wondered!

I wonder which would make me happier
What would I be waking up to if it was temporary?
Who would remember me for life if it was permanent?

Questions with no definite answers
Two paths with no clear destination
I submit myself to fate
Do with me whatever you please!
Take me away
Bring me back if you please
I'm powerless to fight, I'm tired of fighting

Remember though, I whispered to myself hoping fate was listening
If you bring me back I'll fight unfairly/fairly to be happy
I might win, I might fail, I'm sure you know which
So take me, and end this circle of back and forths
Or for once, guide me/strengthen me to the eternal light I seek
Guide me to it's source here on earth, let the heavens wait for me just a bit.

I silently ask, as the cold sinks deep within my core even more
It was finally time
I was in the cold embrace of fate now
.....

I opened my eyes to a bright light staring
Head banging like I had just transitioned
Voices in the distance
Was this the peace I sought for??

I tried to make sense of where I was
Only to realise that I left the lights on during the power outage
It was back
I'm still on earth
Its 2 am, a new day, another chance..
Maybe a better one, who knows!
I sighed, I smiled
.

You better grant this wish in full, you this crazy cold player. Your mind games are no fun I mouthed in gratitude for a new day.

RAYA AZUL.png

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70