MSP MUSIC AND ART CURATION CONTEST | MY STREET

in #poetry6 years ago
This is my entry for this week's MSP music and art curation contest hosted by the lovely @isaria.

I wrote a poem for the contest but because it was an art and music contest mostly, I decided to go further. I took a photograph and edited it on Adobe Photoshop. So I managed to have photography and writing in one poem. I wanted to do a dsound recording but dsound was having issues.

This is a first for me and I feel it is a great step forward. Thank you minnowssupport for this opportunity. You can check out the contest rules here


MY STREET


My street is slick with sin,
Bleeding from gutter lips.
And vaginal drains leaking debris,
Drinking dust and ashes and old soup stains.

Chaffed feet creep on her cracked asphalt face,
Pockmarked with old pimple, mortar scars,
Grass wreathed bones rusting in stained puddles
Filled with rain, tears and dust
And little girls looking for love.

My street sleeps with crumbled homes
And ghosts wandering, lost in the darkness,
Searching for the light,
The fading light in the distant sky,
And old men looking for love.


Ending...


The photo were taken by my Infinix Hot light and edited on Adobe Photoshop software.


Hey folks, this is Oskilo's blog and he would love to read your suggestions on how to make this blog better serve you. He would like to know what you, his reader, think of the content so do not forget to leave a comment; you just might have something he needs.

Peace

©warpedpoetic.


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


4.png
DQmaNBEMAdQAjvR6Cnqa9PJ8VfLb399Zq9AmeTnmaBT3heV.png

Sort:  

Love your work as always Oskilo! The yearning in the lines about "...looking for love" leaves a haunting echo.

Thank you @bennettitalia. We are all looking for love. Some of us look for it in strange places and there are those who we think so not deserve love but still seek it, still need it.

Love this @warpedpoetic

This is tipically a Nigeria environment, except for the "ghosts wandering."

Nice one bro, I pray you win. Bring it home 😊.

Thank you bro

You most welcome👍.

very tactile, great description, keep it up!

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarenacommunity trail. Our goal is to support minnows on steemit to help them grow.

You can join our discord server here;
https://discord.gg/xhdAcgR
You can also support us by donating steem/sbd or delegating SP to steemainsarena trail to acknowledge our mission.

That last stanza just really grabs a person, I loved it. A nice photo choice, it goes well with the poem.

@bashadow it was the photo that inspired the poem. After taking it, I looked at it and wrote the poem.
Yeah the last stanza will resonate for any man. I for one see such old men, lonely, eyes wandering, remembering the past, on my street.

@warpedpoetic (Oskilo). Great work. To be able to catch the despair and put it so eloquently into words is just fantastic. I like how you were able to utilize a photo to really make the vision of your poem come alive.

Thank you @jbreheny. I actually wanted to also do a dsound recording to complete the ensemble but on the day, dsound messed up so I had to resort to posting the photo and the poem. I later did the dsound post yesterday so it won't be a total waste.
Thanks for stopping by. Please do come again.

I definitely will. You were the first person who told me about going on Discord. Not sure whether to thank you or bill you for my rehab. LOL

Keep up the great work.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63