Dreams and inspirations.

in #poetry5 years ago

After being inspired by Priscilla's Poem, @yidneth, about her waking dream I was reminded of a poem I wrote a few years ago. Maybe not as evocative and certainly not so polished.

But I promised I would share it and so here it is. I asked an artist friend of mine to help put the words to images and personally I love what she has done.

I hope you do too.

s1209.png

Sleep washes over like a tide of fate

Waves of fatigue do hold me down

My thoughts do slip, the hour is late

My face does relax, gone is my frown.


I am carried off on night's moonbeam

Carried to places so far from thought

Where even brave men dare to dream

Those better than I, hearts are caught


Taken to places beyond conscious thought

Confused by places and what they might mean

With things downside up and not as they ought

With anything possible in this world of dream


But through it all, one hope does stay true

One thought it does cling despite all my sins

That beneath the strangeness the truth is you

That you make me dream, make me see all things


You make me want to be asleep in your arms

Make me want to be helpless and weak

Capture me with your grace and your charms

Inspire my passions whenever you speak.


Each night we talk only a little, it's true

But a little is enough even for us

For you to know me and me to know you

To build up a bed of mutual trust.


Dare I to hope you might hold me the same

Perhaps yet maybe it could still be true

That you smile as you sleep on hearing my name

That you dare to dream dreams of me too


Sleep well my dream and take it from me

You do more to my heart than give it some rest

You are my nights muse, as anyone can see

As inspiration goes you are some of the best.

s1206.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @veritanuda! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63524.02
ETH 3069.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84