Pearlescent Poems # 16: Colossal Lion (Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Ablaze all around you entirely of hate, in darkness you patiently wait
Eyes glazed with lust, mane covered in dust, jaws open the gravely gates


You're cunning and coarse, you love to coerce, fangs deepen their cuts when they pierce
You're gunning for corpse, a meal that's full course, but if alive then you're quick to be fierce

You're sly as fake gold, tremendously cold, pre-dating the known praying times
Mimic enemies you loathe, you're a predator of old, predating prey all of the time


You're terribly beautiful, devouring as usual, a fathomless method of hunting
You seek to destroy, all weapons employed, the sharpest of minds you keep blunting

The places you've scouted, in corners you've sprouted, attacking young children you've stalked
You leave so few living, evil you keep giving, bite wounds stop all those who had gawked


You run for the chase, so wide is your taste, your crimson tipped claws leave a trail
Your ivory cream, now reddening teeth, devour up all but the tails

An insatiable hunger, rich and poor both you plunder, their faces rearranged, you're Picasso
Discriminate none, you kill just for fun, great leaders, the homeless, and apostles


But karma's full swing, there's a mightier King, who surpasses even you, Colossal Lion
And your end will be daunting, an eternity wanting, when you hear your judgement call, all souls lie in...


Thank you very much for reading this poem in its entirety. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I had fun writing it. For deeper understanding of this poem you can reference the KJV Bible New Testament 1 Peter 5:8 and New Testament Revelations 5:5 in that order in correlation with the poem's theme.

All Gifs Used From Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow at
5-6pm San Francisco
8-9pm New York City, New York
1-2am London, United Kingdom
2-3am Hamburg Germany

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Nice work.

I especially like the ending!

Thank you very much, seeing your feedback gives me that extra push. Thoughtful comments are just as valuable as upvotes so I do appreciate it truly. Something tells me that you understand the underlying message and theme I am hinting at in between the lines :) especially based off what you wrote in Chapter 2 of Love Like His funeral

Yeah the written encouragement of others here on the platform is like nothing else.

After all the other benefits I have had on this platform I still find it to be so encouraging.

It's hard some days without it.

Yes I agree again as well. I try my best to give due credit and feedback and constructive indepth commentary when I can, I know how much it encourages people to stay focused and hopeful. There is so much talent on steemit it's a beautiful diversity too

A person has their own God given talent as we know from scripture

yes that is so true Mr verbal-D, We have all our gifts given to us for his work is in our hands !! yours is writing and feeling I would say !! loves this poem and look forward to reading more of your work !!)

Thanks for chiming in on that conversation.

Way to encourage and support @gomeravibz!

Thank you very much as always, so nice to see your comment and feedback man, and I am humbled by your generous words. I'm glad you love the poem and looking forward to more of your skilled writing as well.

That is what I was hoping!

Glad to almost hear it.

"His" love is the hardest love to have love like.

I guess maybe you fish for more than just fish then, huh?

Indeed I believe we are on the same wavelength which is nice to know and I completely agree, an unconditional love like His is pure perfection. I've been fishing for more than fish this whole time lol just setting up my bait that's all

Glad to hear it!

Indeed, I just wrote the sequel poem to this Lion one and I plan to release chapter 4 of They Didn't See It Beneath Them tonight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41