Poem: Inspiration

in #poetry7 years ago

For all those who have found inspiration a hard beast to pin down

Inspiration:

I hunt the beast
Stalking, searching
Across the placid plains and jagged hills
of introspection
weaving through childrens’ laughter
Softly blown rainbow bubbles
remain just beyond grasping fingers

Through the bug-infested mire
of others tragedy
trying to slap away
the mosquitoes of misfortune
before they settle
The beast remains just beyond sight,
a dim shadow in the mist

Amongst the tangled webs of others fantasies
trying to shake off
the desiccated carcasses of clichés
and overused and tired plotlines
while holding on to the gems of insight
They cling like dewdrops and sparkle in the sun
then turn to vapour and slip through my fingers

The beast is cunning, an ambush predator
It awaits in that space between waking and sleep
It strikes when it knows it is too late, cloaking itself in dreams
I tell myself I will remember
But when the dreams retreat
The only evidence of its passing
Is the knowledge that it has been

Vaughan 3/07/2017

Sort:  

I immediately had to re-read it! Beautiful... simply beautiful!

I too write poetry myself, and this poem put into words my ever-growing ideas about the mystery of inspiration and its eerie ways. The personification of inspiration in the beast gives it that life and depth which it rightfully deserves. I honestly feel like this should be read by everyone who writes, creates, or does anything which involves the beast we know as inspiration.

Thank you!

Thank you for reading it, and giving me your thoughts. I think every writer has had their battles with inspiration, so I was hoping most could relate to it in some way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37