Steemit Slam #1 - Poem Entry: Leaving Childhood

in #poetry7 years ago

 

source


Leaving Childhood


Delight, in purest form on a child's face,

The innocence of youth that you can't replace.

The timeless moments of youth and infancy,

Savored, passing away blissfully.


Adolescence, the pain of coming maturity, 

The often felt loneliness and the insecurity,

At the time, seems endless and daunting,

So much you can't see and you're left wanting.


But, with the guidance of peers and mentors,

The strength is found to reach the coming shores.

Parents, siblings, teachers and those we love,

Can help us to conquer and achieve all we dreamed of. 


Goodbye, childhood, I am leaving you now.

Although, I know you'll always be part of me somehow.

As I enter this new realm of age and responsibility, 

I'll never forget how much you meant to me.


Sort:  

Congratulations @uglysweater! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So nice! I can certainly relate, I think I felt the most sad about leaving childhood during ages 18-22 or so. I still feel that nostalgia at times, but I'm at peace with having the great memories and being able to move on, as you said, with greater maturity and responsibilities. I enjoyed your poem; it was an interesting structure with the spaces between the lines like that.

Thank you for commenting! I am glad you liked it. :)

Very good! (;

Great post again.

Thank you. :)

This post has received a 2.83 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @uglysweater.

I love this one!!!!!!!

I curate poetry with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out about it here where there is also a poetry dice challenge!

Thank you! 😄

Nice job on the poem @uglysweater. Very good work.

I am totally mentioning your poem as the recommend poem I support for #steemitslam poetry competition :)
I loved this poem because we have all experienced this loss, and it was one we cannot ever go back to!!
I guess we dont appreciate being a child when we are one we are too busy wishing days away into adulthood!!! <3 well done, this is truly beautiful.

I always write such darkness ahahaha

=D

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your compliments and your recommendation. 😊

:) It made me so sad but in a lovely way, Thank You for the wonderful Poem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15