No Longer Your captive.

in #poetry6 years ago

Perfection was my craving,

Perfection was my wish.

Not because I truely wanted to, not because I strive for it,

Not because I knew I can be perfect but because of the pressure.

image

Dilemma hits on me hard, even when I wasn't ready for it.

I had to fight back, to prove that am a defeater.

Dawn comes and it goes, I struggle.

Then Twilight came like the light in the end of the tunnel, giving raise to hope and strength.

It radiates with courage that all those moments of giving up and crashing down seems to never had existed.

I embrace the hope, strength and courage it brings to me like a nursing bird bringing food to it's chick.

Causing the shadows of fear to few away like a cat after it's prey.

Am no longer giving into pressure. Never should I because it's a cage to small for to fit in.

I wish I can fly, I wish I had other means of going faster but it seems running is the only option and I won't give up.

Am breaking free of all it's hold and forms, am raising up to surpass it.

Have endured enough, have taken enough that their isn't any space left.

Am a rolling stone which shows that am unstoppable.

Am shades of my own colours you'd never really know, only time can tell if you would get to discover it sooner, later or never.

I would be brave not let anything take away the hope I have longed-for which I now have.

Rebellion isn't far from my reach. It's closer and soon you'd see it unleash.

Till then am no longer in your holds that looks pleasurable but deadly at same time, that I do wonder why I didn't see it from the start.

Till then am no longer your captive.

Sort:  

Your poem is very emotional. Keep going! Have a nice day, friend.

Thank you.. And you too dear..

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @uche-nna!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.286 which ranks you at #8040 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 8049).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #201.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77