Overcoming FearsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago


winter-1732882__480.jpg

Hushed by the feeling of fear,
It creeps from the darkest corners of my mind,
Demanding control,
Commanding authority.
virus-infected-cells-213708__480-1.jpg
Spreading…
like an unrelenting virus,
A disease that claims,
creating a chaos within.
zEepe.gif
The clock ticks as time is lost,
What news will the day usher in?
As the world charges around me,
I remain idle…silent…trapped.
http---mashable.com-wp-content-uploads-2012-04-1.gif
My mind topsy-turvy,
The weight of fear wrapped around my ankles,
Drags me swiftly to the ocean’s floor,
suffocated by the thought, “I may lose her.”

A flicker of light catches my eye on the waters surface,
A reflection of memories,
A reminder that life is precious,
As I beg to reverse the fleeting sands of time.
nature-2609434__480.jpg
Like the waves of the tides,
I contest the suffocating grasp of fear’s cold fingers,
Fracturing the surface,
Claiming the pure air that now fills my lungs.
tumblr_mwp29fg3nL1sdipz0o1_500.gif
For her sake and mine,
I will find fortitude and claim hope,
For hope is the light that guides us in the darkness,
And allows us to believe anything is possible.
91f1d911a21b67b86bcbf4b9d3e58640.gif

As many of you know I have been awaiting some news on my grandmother's diagnosis and at this point they don't want to speculate what kind of cancer. Until she sees the oncologist this week for more testing we will not know how advanced (staging) or what kind. I spoke to her a few days ago and she was in good spirits. As always I'd like to thank you for reading my work. Please keep my grandmother in your thoughts!

Your Travel Nurse
"Nursey"

Image credits:
Free Images from Pixabay
http://popkey.co/m/zEepe-clock
http://mashable.com/2012/04/04/flixel-gif-app/#JrMEezP_G8q3
https://wifflegif.com/tags/25182-drowning-gifs?page=4
http://www.gramunion.com/tagged/black%20and%20white%20grunge?n=1484665985
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/536069161871228132/

Sort:  

I came here from @msp-waves audience to say..

We love you nurse, and we are listening. <3

Thanks sammo! You guys are great listeners and supporters!!!!

"For hope is the light that guides us in the darkness..." How beautiful! My thoughts are with your grandma. I'll love to know how the tests go. All the best.

Thank you misterakpan! I will definitely let you know. Pathology from lymph nodes showed cancerous cells and she had those lymph nodes removed. Now it's just figuring out what kind of cancer and how progressed. I appreciate your thoughts and support!

Anxiety and depression are real and socio-economic forces are not complimentary to this situation. However as you have clearly stated it is all about hope , to get out of bed , to believe (whether spiritual or your own personal belief). We don't know what will happen, we know what has happened but in the present we can make things happen.

Very beautiful reply @stickchumpion. All we can do is hope and be strong as a family! Good thing I'm one of 9 and there of lots of us to provide support!

No worries shabba

I'm so sorry, Nurse. <3
This was beautiful and heart wrenching and moving. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Love you, darling, and if you need anything, you know I am right here.

Stitchy, I definitely know you are there for me and I appreciate you as you have been there since the beginning. When I held it inside and wasn't quite sure what was happening, you were there to calm my soul! Love you too <3!

You depict here the struggle we all share during such times. Hope is all we really have to cling to. It is the light that guides us through such dark thoughts.

I'm glad you finished this the way you did. It shows inner strength. You, your grandmother and your family are in my thoughts. <3

Being on Steemit and discord has improved me as a person. One thing I struggle with is loss and the sadness/fear that accompanies it. You guys have taught me to have faith, to hope, and to overcome... Much love to my peeps!

I hope it's not too serious and treatable. I'm sending you good vibes.

I am hoping for the same good sir! Good vibes needed and appreciated.

This has been chosen as an exceptionally creative post by the audience at @msp-waves, stay creative! we love you, we really do. <3

Awe you guys! Much love! Can't believe I missed it <3

beautiful

Thanks for coming by to read Artsy! I appreciate your support and kindness.

This is an incredible post. So well written...the art and videos helps tell the story in a tangible way. Truly powerful!! Thank you for posting!!! I will keep your grandmother in my thoughts.

Thanks @wipgirl! I questioned whether I should put the photos in as I went along. Some would prefer to just read the poem itself and envision it. I appreciate your love and thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02