You’re vain, just clouds of empty promisessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

Sometimes I’m in my own head
Going back and forth

Not knowing what to say or do
Just to be accepted by you

I just want to be heard
To be seen as not different from you

To be seen as having fresh blood
And carrying a soul

879E96F4-E6E2-4D0E-AF30-40E024ED9231.jpegsource

Why do I have to fear what you think?
Why do you build bridges I cannot cross?

Why not ridges that I can step on?
I could perfectly use a warm embrace too

Then our smiles will linger forever
If only you can be attentive enough

To hear the fear in my voice
If only you could take a second glance

To see the tears in my eyes
Even when I smile

Of what benefit is a father
Who cannot protect his own?

Of what benefit is a leader
Who sees a pit ahead and makes no warning?

Where is the live you vowed to give?
The ease and peace of better living

The exchange of insanity for sanity
You are in no way better than the former

And if care is not taken
No difference with the latter

You’re vain, just clouds of empty promises
Funny thing, they advocated for change.

We gotta Emerge Naija!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Bro... Me love it... Nigeria needs a makover... No more same old... We're too far off from where we're supposed to b

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39