I am Black

in #poetry6 years ago


Source :)

I swear I am black.
Melanin has my back.

Though secretly a global child.
The streets of Africa enchant my wild.

Still dusty and chaotic in twentieth century.
Yet full of colour and wonder.

I promise I am black.
I recall while growing up way back.

We played in large soiled herds.
And all our toys were handmade.

The weather was either rain or sun.
Never seen snow but I can tell you of dust and mud.

I swam in large rivers growing up.
Swimming pools are younger than my era.

I was born to drums and loud music.
Dancing is ingrained within my soul.

I am a proud black woman.
Who overcame much more than pain.

I have seen war and reconciliation.
I have experienced a beautiful world.

I excelled in the worst of conditions.
While still fighting degrading traditions.

First shared here


While you are here, visit my recent posts :)

Paint

Crayon Contest

Thank you for coming.

#BlackQueen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35