The echoes of the night: Not good enough.

in #poetry6 years ago


image source
At the middle of the night when no sound is heard, And the birds have fallen asleep,
When the darkness is at its peak,
And the living are deep in the dream land,
Then do my own struggles begins,
The struggle which many may not understand,
The struggle of my mind and thoughts,
The struggle of not being good enough.


At that quiet moment, my contemplation starts,
I try to check myself, but the echoes are at it again,
I hate the echoes, but I cannot stop it.
I did all I could do, trying to control my thoughts,
And push the echoes away,but it refuses to go.
What will I do?, How will I bring myself to listen to what the echoes are saying? , When all I could hear is how not good enough I am.


I don't want to believe the echoes, but again some part of me is eager to believe it.
I want to fight but how can I fight myself.
Here I am screaming, yet my voices fails to surpass the echoes.
This night is suppose to be my night,
A night when I count my victories but here I am again feeling like a failure.


They said you are a product of what you think,
And this kind of thought is eluding me,
Does it mean that I am really a failure?,
Am I really not good enough?,
Should I give up and believe the echoes?,
Am I trying to hide from the truth?.


I must confess I need help.
I need someone to rescue me.
I need a saviour because I don't think I can save myself again.
Don't say I didn't try to fight, because that's all I have been doing.... FIGHTING
Save me before it becomes too late.
Save me before this echoe wins.

Sort:  

Awesome poem. It is true negative echoes can sound very convincing. Yet old stubborn thoughts need time to be pulled down by daily consciously replacing it with statement like

"I am good enough!"
"I may not be perfect but I try best."
"I may make mistake but who doesn't. And I vow to improve."
"I am forgiven of my past and now my future is new."

It may take these new thoughts weeks to form there at the back of the mind, then the old negative thoughts will crumble.

Love reading your poem

Keep eSteeming :)

Thanks for stopping by. I am happy you liked it.

It was great! ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43