My yellow bird [Collaborative Poetry]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

DQmaNXhJmFuUhPUTffQ4HMEG2roPxRokHajZwaq4QZid6kb.png

This coal mine
fills with hatred and lies
while the bird sings in its iron cage
a sacrifice on the altar
of our superiority

A sentinel species who
whistles while you work
pet the pretty
acting as a tool
of our survival

Sensitive to shame
our mortal lives
secure in his silence
his beauty
unrealized in his role


This was a multi-steemian collaboration. The image was created by John Shaw, inspiring the poetry of two steemians- me and @yusaymon. In this post, Yu's poetry inspired my work. This was created as part of @inquiringtimes contest to celebrate all things Yusaymon! The final stanza was written by @japhofin8or . Check out his work- he writes some beautiful, heartfelt poetry and is one of the latest members of The Writers Block.


writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif



Art is property of Jon Shaw
Text is property of @sunravelme and @japhofin8or

Sort:  

Amazing poem....I live in the Appalachian mountains and people forget the beauty of the sacrafice that many birds paid to keep coal miners safe. I appreciate the poem!

Thank you! I don't think it's common knowledge any longer, at least not as common as it used to be.

This was sad and yet lovely.... Saw it at the workshop first. Nicely done.

Thank you! The picture is almost too pretty and sweet for such a dark poem, but it's what came out!

Thank you for inclusion in your post. Unnecessary but appreciated. I was happy to help. :)

A 1/3 of the poem is quite extensive! You made it complete

nice art i like it

An interesting commentary on the current state of things...canary in the coal mine. I think that some people may not know why coal miners brought canaries down into the mines with them.

It's funny that you say that, when I was doing my "research" for the poem, many of the posts said that they thought the metaphor was overused. I disagree and think it's beautiful myself.

That first stanza will stick in my head for a while. Something is probably wrong with me, but that coal mine reminds me of myself, and it makes me sad. Good sad. Also, something is definitely, not probably, wrong with me. Great work, @sunravelme and team.

Thank you! If it means many things to many people, and makes a connection, then I did my job :)

Cool collaboration - especially since some of it took place in Poetry Workshop! good job you guys!

We've got some great writers up in there!

great job @sunravelme

If the most interesting man in the world thinks so ;)

Nice post.

This collaboration is absolutely exquisite! Following all mentioned with great interest.

Thank you! They create some great content :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59