Don't (Original Poem and Reading)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

42247984522_dd74117bcb_o.jpg

You've ruined everything
asking me to analyze
beauty and emotion
without any
It's not like mathematics
all angles and
answers in black and white
It's like whispers
bouncing across a gray stone room,
where people share lies like secrets
its reserved the way God is
where poets are priests
and we are merely mortal.
It's the hush
of a cathedral
where words are the stained glass
that murmur
this is your sanctuary

8.png

Click here to listen to my reading on choon. Choon is a new decentralized music service on the blockchain, where artists earn "notes" every time someone listens to their song. Artists can chose to split the notes earned with their listeners as well- I have mine set to a 50/50 split, so if you choose to listen and have an account, you also earn notes! Currently, notes are not worth anything, but they are due to be released sometime this fall. @darrenclaxton explains it much better than I do in his post. Special shout-out to him for the invitation code, which allowed me to post my recording on the site.

8.png

The poem itself I wrote as an extra credit assignment for a poetry portfolio in high school. I outlined it during class, when I was annoyed with my teacher for making us analyze poetry. Now, as a poet and a teacher myself, I really appreciated all the critical thinking skills that I developed in that class. Someday I will have to look up that teachers name and thank her! I took the photo at Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris.

8.png

I previously published this poem on steemit here last year.


Graphic and poem are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Lovely poem my friend!
I'm glad the code got you instant access.
You'll be earning as soon as you know it.

You've ruined everything
asking me to analyze
beauty and emotion


I may borrow those words for my next song.

That would be sooo cool! I'm secretly jealous of all the poets on Steemit who's words have been turned into a song! Borrow away

I understand this piece rather well. Whenever I have been lucky enought to travel in Europe. Sitting in a quite, cool church has always been an enlightening experience:):):)

Wonderful poem. Kara:)

I'm not even religious but churches (especially old, elaborate ones) have a special pull on me. Thank you!

Me too on both accounts:)

This poem is deep on so many levels. Speaks to me personally. I featured your poem here: https://steemit.com/streaming/@mia.fembot/mia-fem-streaming-steemit-content-poetry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48